You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Electrical Question

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#288328 - 01/23/10 11:44 AM Electrical Question
jorge016 Offline
local

Registered: 02/11/04
Posts: 248
Loc: Minnesota
We live on the western Minnesota prairie on a farm. We're are currently in the middle of a January rain/ice storm which means we're in danger of losing electricity. We have a standby generator but I'm worried about frying the electronics in the household without some kind of voltage regulator. Anybody have any similar experience that can give me some guidance in what I need to do?
_________________________
M22's, VP150, QS4's, HK 630, HSU VTF3-MKII

Top
#288333 - 01/23/10 12:49 PM Re: Electrical Question [Re: jorge016]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4116
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
Any time I have used the generator (its not the really expensive ones that come on automatically) during long power outages, I dont use any HT equipment,computers or televisions and unplug them from the outlets and just use the generator for necessities such as lights, fridges, stove,sump pump, furnace etc. An electrician once told me that it is not good to run a computer off the generator with our setup so I don't even bother using any of the A/V equipment either. I forget the exact reason why (so much for good help)..lol. Maybe its different with the really nice generators but I dunno.
_________________________
I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
#288336 - 01/23/10 01:14 PM Re: Electrical Question [Re: BlueJays1]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6789
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

We lose electric here every so often and I run an inexpensive 4K gasoline powered generator. A couple of years ago we went without ac for 4 days; I ran all but my stereo on the current from the generator. No problems that I could tell.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#288345 - 01/23/10 03:43 PM Re: Electrical Question [Re: jorge016]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
If you do consider getting a UPS or some other form of conditioner, make sure it's "dirty power" rated, for use with a generator. The company I work for has some large diesel and natural gas generators. One would think they're good quality, but they tend to wear out the batteries in regular UPSes. I think the dirty power ones have more conditioning before the battery circuit, and don't switch from charge to discharge so rapidly.
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#288392 - 01/24/10 01:37 AM Re: Electrical Question [Re: ClubNeon]
duckman Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/09/03
Posts: 315
Loc: kansas
We have a 10kw generator, but the run to the tv is quite long and the voltage drops quite a bit, I measured it once and it was under 110v. We lost power all day during an ice storm a couple years ago and chanced it with a cheapo dvd player and 27" crt. I wouldn't run anything expensive without one of those high rent ups units made for running av gear. Amie mentioned once that they have days-long outages regularly and run their theater with a gen. I wonder what that setup consists of.
_________________________
Well, Alright Then.

Top
#288520 - 01/25/10 09:27 AM Re: Electrical Question [Re: duckman]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
on a semi-related tip, do not throw the switch over on your isolator switch (you do have one right???) until the generator is started and running warm. If you try to start it under load, it will have a much a harder time starting up and you will have very inconsistent power flooding your system until it gets running smoothly.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#288784 - 01/26/10 06:14 PM Re: Electrical Question [Re: Murph]
jorge016 Offline
local

Registered: 02/11/04
Posts: 248
Loc: Minnesota
The farm used to be a large dairy farm. It is all set up (isolator wise)to run safely from a genset, but your advice Murph was spot on. I have a large pto driven generator, but hate to run a 130 hp tractor to power my wood boiler and the household necessities. The power cooperative in the area has buried 99% of the lines-power interruptions are rare. That said the thought of being without power to run the deep well pump and well house heater when the temps get way below zero is a little unsettling. Have to get a backup in the 3500 watt range, but to get one with clean power is pricey. Thanks for the responses
_________________________
M22's, VP150, QS4's, HK 630, HSU VTF3-MKII

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,232 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,007 Topics
424,185 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (norap)
171 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup