You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » The Water Cooler » Computer network help please

Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#289372 - 01/30/10 11:07 AM Re: Computer network help please [Re: ]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
I assume the remote control was consensual. I doubt this was related to your network.

Consider that if you're online, you're on a network in any case--it just happens to be a very large one, and you're likely to be partially firewalled off from it.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#289394 - 01/30/10 01:12 PM Re: Computer network help please [Re: Ken.C]
htnut
Unregistered


 Originally Posted By: kcarlile
I assume the remote control was consensual. I doubt this was related to your network.

Consider that if you're online, you're on a network in any case--it just happens to be a very large one, and you're likely to be partially firewalled off from it.


Oh, my mistake then. I assumed it was not consensual since the OP seemed concerned and then followed by installing Zone Alarm.

Top
#289519 - 01/31/10 10:47 AM Re: Computer network help please [Re: ]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4299
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Nope, not consensual, someone was controlling my trackball.
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#289521 - 01/31/10 10:53 AM Re: Computer network help please [Re: Ya_basta]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
If someone was really remote controlling your computer without your permission, that is a very unusual thing. Most people are quite content to quietly go behind your back and install fun things to scrape credit card numbers, set up your computer as a spam server, or various other nefarious stuff.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#289539 - 01/31/10 01:19 PM Re: Computer network help please [Re: Ya_basta]
CV Online   confused
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11677
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
 Originally Posted By: wheelz999
Nope, not consensual, someone was controlling my trackball.


What did you do to Teri?

Top
#289564 - 01/31/10 03:38 PM Re: Computer network help please [Re: CV]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4299
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Charles, you are something else LOL.
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#295436 - 03/07/10 04:36 PM Re: Computer network help please [Re: Ya_basta]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4299
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Has anyone had any problems with Linksys routers or their drivers? Prior to hooking up and installing the drivers for the wireless router, my computer would run perfectly fine. Now that I have the router hooked up and drivers installed, my computer freezes and crashes with BSOD's all the time. I've even done a fresh install of Windows 7 (I was running the release candidate) but I'm experiencing the same time.

I'm about ready to do another fresh install and go back to a direct connection. I am, after all, only using the wireless utility for my printer anyway.

Any ideas? Your help is greatly appreciated.


Edited by wheelz999 (03/07/10 04:38 PM)
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#295438 - 03/07/10 05:08 PM Re: Computer network help please [Re: Ya_basta]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
You shouldn't have to install any drivers (or anything at all) when you use a router of any kind. Remove the router software and just use the Windows wireless connection.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#295440 - 03/07/10 05:16 PM Re: Computer network help please [Re: Ken.C]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4299
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
I did remove the router software Ken, as I couldn't even run it successfully, but I'm still encountering problems. Do you think it's possible that it has left stuff behind, thus causing a conflict?
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#295441 - 03/07/10 05:23 PM Re: Computer network help please [Re: Ya_basta]
htnut
Unregistered


Are you getting the BSOD constantly? Surfing the net, running apps, or even when idling?

If the router is connected still and you get BSOD then I'd remove it and make a direct connection before any other changes. If your suspicion of left over "stuff" from the router driver/software (which is never required) is the culprit then you should still get BSOD even with direct connection. See what happens.

Top
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,255 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,039 Topics
424,557 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13572
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
190 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup