You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » doubling up 16ga wire??

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#289313 - 01/29/10 11:55 PM doubling up 16ga wire??
turbo16v Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/19/08
Posts: 175
Loc: SkiUtah!
I am helping someone set up a 7.1 system. the room was prewired for 5.1 and the only way to get the back two is by using flat wire. the carpet is being replaced so I figured that would be perfect. Here is what we got..
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=100-040

The run will be about 15 feet to a 8 ohm tower and I was wondering if there would be any benefit to doubling the wire if we have enough. (I don't mean bi-amping)
Does 2 16ga make a right? \:\)

Top
#289320 - 01/30/10 12:18 AM Re: doubling up 16ga wire?? [Re: turbo16v]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
If you double it, it does increase the gauge; I'm not sure to what, but at least to 14 gauge, I would think. At least then it would be lower resistance, not that I think it's really a factor at that distance.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#289322 - 01/30/10 12:20 AM Re: doubling up 16ga wire?? [Re: turbo16v]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10634
Chet, doubling up wire creates the equivalent of a a gauge three lower, e.g., doubling 16ga results in the equivalent of 13ga. No, there wouldn't be any significant benefit from this since 16ga is more than enough for a 15' run(see speaker wire table ). Also, unless the two doubled wires are in close contact, this increases the inductance of the wiring, with possible high frequency attenuation.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#289325 - 01/30/10 12:23 AM Re: doubling up 16ga wire?? [Re: JohnK]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Right, they do have to be very close together. I forgot about that part.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#289823 - 02/01/10 04:04 PM Re: doubling up 16ga wire?? [Re: Ken.C]
snazzed Offline
local

Registered: 09/07/09
Posts: 201
Yes, running combined twisted pair does make a difference... you get rid of induction... in twisted pair. Doubled up loose wire you won't see that benefit:

http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volume_10_2/ultralink-CL414-cable-5-2003.html

I can't take credit for that link. I got it from another thread on this board a long time ago.

According to the article above, using doubled 14g results in the current capacity/resistance of an 11g wire. I figured I didn't quite need that so I looked up the stats on 16g.

Twisted pair 14g:
- Conductor diameter close to 8g? Don't recall
- Resistance close to 11g
- no induction

Twisted pair 16g:
- Conductor diameter close to 10g
- Resistance of 13g
- no induction

Personally I'm getting my stuff at the end of this month and intend to go with 16g 4 conducter in wall, from monoprice.

Hope this helps:
snazzed

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,260 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,055 Topics
424,824 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13576
CV 11681
MarkSJohnson 11444
1 registered (Gary Vose Sr)
35 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup