Print Thread
Rate Thread
Total noob, please help
#289688 02/01/10 02:28 PM
Y
Yonmin Offline OP
OP Offline
Y
There way to many questions for me to state in the subject title.

1. I am getting an audio system for my iMac, most probably 2.1 would be good. Considering the M50, but do I need other stuff to connect my iMac to the M50? I don't exactly know how it work.

2. Is a receiver a must for floor-standing speakers?

3. Do I still need a bass subwoofer if I choose floor-standing speakers?

4. Lastly, simply using it for music, using an iMac, what would be the best speakers and what would I also need?

Re: Total noob, please help
Yonmin #289692 02/01/10 02:50 PM
axiomite
axiomite
The M50s will require amplification of some sort, as will any larger speaker that is not self powered. There are self-powered speakers out there but I'm not familiar with them enough to recommend a brand. I have read a few good reviews for self powered models but it seems that most high end speakers rely on outside amplification. Also be aware it means that you need an electrical outlet wherever they are located.

You don't need a receiver if you are only going to run the iMAC to the speakers. A receiver will simplify things later on if you start to add other devices but if it's strictly iMac to speakers only, then all you need is a stereo amp in the middle to give the speakers clean wattage.

Some stereo amps have a subwoofer out module but some do not. Even if it does not, you can still use a sub but just make sure it has connectors to tap into the speaker wire heading to one of your speakers, as opposed to just an RCA type plug only that wants to connect to the sub out of a receiver. They both do very different things.