You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver.

Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#290239 - 02/03/10 11:22 AM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: ClubNeon]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Also try plugging the RCA cable into the line-out jack--the line in and line out are actually the reversible--electrically, they're the same thing.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#290241 - 02/03/10 11:30 AM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: ClubNeon]
GregLee Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/12/03
Posts: 144
Loc: Waimanalo, HI
Yes, I did test the high level inputs, and they work.
_________________________
Greg
VP180, M80s, M22s, QS8(4), CSW S305s, EP500, Pioneer VSX-90
M2i, M3(2), Pio vsx-1020

Top
#290243 - 02/03/10 11:40 AM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: GregLee]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
How about running into the Line Out jack?
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#290244 - 02/03/10 11:53 AM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: ClubNeon]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
I know it's been said already but you realllllly need to call Axiom. They are very friendly and helpful. At the very least, if the RCA jack on your sub is broken, they will arrange a fix for you.

Using the high level inputs negates all the bass management you can do on the receiver. I would want the RCA jack fixed, if that is indeed a problem.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#290245 - 02/03/10 11:54 AM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: ClubNeon]
GregLee Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/12/03
Posts: 144
Loc: Waimanalo, HI
Thanks to both of you -- that's a very useful suggestion. Well, line out sort of works a little. There's some sound, but it's very faint, even with the sub volume up all the way. Maybe some faint sound was there using line in, also, and before I just didn't notice it.
_________________________
Greg
VP180, M80s, M22s, QS8(4), CSW S305s, EP500, Pioneer VSX-90
M2i, M3(2), Pio vsx-1020

Top
#290251 - 02/03/10 12:32 PM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: GregLee]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13675
Loc: Iowa
Greg, there is more than one individual on this forum (rvrrat and argon) that have this same issue. Normally, unplugging the AC to the sub and plugging it back in fixes the issue temporarily, but after a short term goes back to the symptoms you describe.

If you call Axiom, they will resolve your issue. We are all tweakers, but sometimes you can't tweak that what is broken.
_________________________
M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#290257 - 02/03/10 01:00 PM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: SirQuack]
GregLee Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/12/03
Posts: 144
Loc: Waimanalo, HI
A known issue, eh. That's good, and I'll try unplugging the power, as a diagnostic. I'll call Axiom soon, but for a little while, I'm going to be listening. The person who sold this to me seemed to think it was an EP175. Should I feel guilty?
_________________________
Greg
VP180, M80s, M22s, QS8(4), CSW S305s, EP500, Pioneer VSX-90
M2i, M3(2), Pio vsx-1020

Top
#290259 - 02/03/10 01:05 PM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: GregLee]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6832
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

Not if he sold you a faulty sub.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#290260 - 02/03/10 01:16 PM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: GregLee]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
 Originally Posted By: GregLee
A known issue, eh. That's good, and I'll try unplugging the power, as a diagnostic. I'll call Axiom soon, but for a little while, I'm going to be listening. The person who sold this to me seemed to think it was an EP175. Should I feel guilty?


Caveat venditor! ;\)

If this is the system you mentioned over at AVS and you can get the sub working properly you got an awesome deal.
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#290262 - 02/03/10 01:39 PM Re: Connecting EP500 to line output of receiver. [Re: grunt]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13675
Loc: Iowa
that bad thing is it won't be under warranty since your not the original owner, if there are issues...
_________________________
M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,405 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,325 Topics
430,850 Posts

Most users ever online:
2,082 @ 01/22/20 10:43 AM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13675
CV 11753
MarkSJohnson 11445
1 registered (2x6spds)
283 Guests and
1 Spider online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup