Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
Who's Online
0 registered (), 27 Guests and 8 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13360 Members
11 Forums
23080 Topics
408064 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17843
pmbuko 16319
SirQuack 13356
CV 11388
MarkSJohnson 11061
Meanwhile On Facebook

(y) That countdown timer is finally off their site! Great to see high-quality s...

⚠ Only 5 days left in our Computer Speaker Presale! http://www.axiomaudio.com/c...

(y) Love this review a customer sent us recently: "Bottom line, these speakers...

❔ The new M1 High Powered Computer Speaker uses Axiom's latest full one-inch twe...

Page 5 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#291624 - 02/10/10 10:01 AM Re: Amplifier Question? [Re: PhillipD]
alan Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3194
Loc: Toronto/New York/Dwight
Hi PhilD,

Just a few thoughts here. The other issue that may occur with pro amps is interconnection. Pro amps may only have XLR or 1/4-inch phone jack inputs, lacking RCA's because the pro world hates RCAs, understandably. RCAs are sort of crappy connectors but they are ample for home use, when you are not constantly connecting and disconnecting. In studio and broadcasting work, XLRs and 1/4-inch jacks are much preferred and more robust.

Regarding the ICE digital amps: I've never heard one, but according to our engineer Tom Cumberland, who designed Axiom's A1400-8 digital amp, the ICE amp topology had certain distortion traits that he did not like.

At Axiom we also have a couple of very powerful Yamaha digital pro amps, with fans, that we've used on occasion, including listening tests with loudspeakers. The Yamahas were/are quite expensive, and seemed to do the job just fine. I don't know what sort of amplifier topology the Yamahas use, other than the fact they are digital amps with huge output (600 watts per channel; 1200 bridged to mono, if memory serves).

Regards,

Alan
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert

Top
#291627 - 02/10/10 10:06 AM Re: Amplifier Question? [Re: alan]
medic8r Offline
axiomite

Registered: 02/05/06
Posts: 6420
Loc: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Hey, it's the Emir of Electronics!

I'll let you borrow Michael Buffer if you want.
_________________________
"The Universe is the game of the self, which plays hide and seek forever and ever" - Alan Watts

Top
#291635 - 02/10/10 12:23 PM Re: Amplifier Question? [Re: medic8r]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8343
Loc: Tacoma
Nice work, JP.

 Quote:
Getting back on topic...


I don't understand.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#291689 - 02/10/10 07:56 PM Re: Amplifier Question? [Re: tomtuttle]
St_PatGuy Offline
axiomite

Registered: 03/07/05
Posts: 7426
Loc: Glendale, Arizona
Anytime I hear "Duke of" anything, I replace it with "Duck of" a la Unforgiven.

It makes me giggle.
_________________________
***********
"Nothin' up my sleeve. . ." --Bullwinkle J. Moose

Top
#291734 - 02/11/10 12:24 AM Re: Amplifier Question? [Re: St_PatGuy]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11388
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
Gene Hackman's character was a crackup in that movie, for sure.

Oh, I didn't know he was retired from acting and a novelist now. He played so many great parts.

Top
#291741 - 02/11/10 12:59 AM Re: Amplifier Question? [Re: CV]
St_PatGuy Offline
axiomite

Registered: 03/07/05
Posts: 7426
Loc: Glendale, Arizona
I didn't know that! I really enjoy his acting.

I wonder how many books he's written?
_________________________
***********
"Nothin' up my sleeve. . ." --Bullwinkle J. Moose

Top
#291742 - 02/11/10 01:06 AM Re: Amplifier Question? [Re: St_PatGuy]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11388
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
Wikipedia said three, but I haven't searched further than that, so I don't know if it's up-to-date.

Top
#291743 - 02/11/10 01:30 AM Re: Amplifier Question? [Re: CV]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17843
Loc: NoVA
Hey, Alan, Jakeman, or anyone else, can you explain to me what is meant by a digital amp? I know that Class Ds aren't necessarily digital, and I'm betting those digital Yamahas you're talking about, Alan, aren't Class D.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#291760 - 02/11/10 09:19 AM Re: Amplifier Question? [Re: Ken.C]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13356
Loc: Iowa
In reality, ICE amps are not digital, at least that is what I've read Alan...
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#291761 - 02/11/10 09:33 AM Re: Amplifier Question? [Re: SirQuack]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3275
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
I am sure this joke has been done a 1000 times, but for some reason I cannot resist any longer:
Aren't those ICE amps melting at loud volumes?
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
Audiobytes! 2M22! 2VP150!

Top
Page 5 of 7 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.