You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » EP500 Hookup It's arrived!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#295020 - 03/04/10 01:01 PM EP500 Hookup It's arrived!
Glitchy Offline
aficionado

Registered: 01/28/10
Posts: 578
Loc: Blueridge Foothills, NC
My EP500 came today. Currently I have a RCA stereo cable fished and strung under the house with the 2 to 1 adapter on the receiver side for my JBL Sub (2 RCAs in at sub).

I know the EP500 takes the 1/4 jack/adapter. Can I just use one side of my RCAs cable for now. I tried to get a cable from monoprice a few days ago, but they are out of stock, and I want to be able to listen to the sub till a new cable gets here and I can get it pulled and fished.

Also, If I want to run dual subs, whats the best way to cable that up. EP500 and 10 year old JBL 10"?

Thanks
_________________________
Fronts/Wides:M22s in/on
Center:VP150/VP100 in/on
Hghts,SS,SR:QS8s
Sub:EP500
AVR:Onkyo 3008

Top
#295022 - 03/04/10 01:05 PM Re: EP500 Hookup It's arrived! [Re: Glitchy]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
What do you mean by "one side of my RCA cable?"

The EP500 should include a 1/4 jack -> RCA adapter, so all you need is a regular RCA-RCA cable. I is confused.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#295024 - 03/04/10 01:11 PM Re: EP500 Hookup It's arrived! [Re: Ken.C]
Glitchy Offline
aficionado

Registered: 01/28/10
Posts: 578
Loc: Blueridge Foothills, NC
 Originally Posted By: kcarlile
What do you mean by "one side of my RCA cable?"

The EP500 should include a 1/4 jack -> RCA adapter, so all you need is a regular RCA-RCA cable. I is confused.


My current JBL sub has a left and right rca inputs. So i've always had an 1 rca/2 rca adaptor at my receicer and a RCa stereo cable to the sub, into the rca right and left inputs.

Your saying I can just use one conductor of my 2 conductor cable, correct.
_________________________
Fronts/Wides:M22s in/on
Center:VP150/VP100 in/on
Hghts,SS,SR:QS8s
Sub:EP500
AVR:Onkyo 3008

Top
#295025 - 03/04/10 01:12 PM Re: EP500 Hookup It's arrived! [Re: Glitchy]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Your receiver should have a single sub out, right? And your EP500 has a single sub in. So yeah, you can just use one conductor. The cables are only linked by the rubber surround.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#295029 - 03/04/10 01:16 PM Re: EP500 Hookup It's arrived! [Re: Ken.C]
Glitchy Offline
aficionado

Registered: 01/28/10
Posts: 578
Loc: Blueridge Foothills, NC
 Originally Posted By: kcarlile
Your receiver should have a single sub out, right? And your EP500 has a single sub in. So yeah, you can just use one conductor. The cables are only linked by the rubber surround.


Thanks, I know these things, not all new to me but haven't researched or had a new sub in many years and there always could be something new I'm not aware of and well a new $1230 sub, I'd rather ask dumb questions, first instead of later.
_________________________
Fronts/Wides:M22s in/on
Center:VP150/VP100 in/on
Hghts,SS,SR:QS8s
Sub:EP500
AVR:Onkyo 3008

Top
#295030 - 03/04/10 01:17 PM Re: EP500 Hookup It's arrived! [Re: Glitchy]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Fair nuff!

I wasn't quite clear on what you were asking.


Edited by kcarlile (03/04/10 01:18 PM)
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#295046 - 03/04/10 02:28 PM Re: EP500 Hookup It's arrived! [Re: Ken.C]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8488
Loc: Tacoma
There's probably no reason whatsoever to run TWO cables to the JBL. It is possible that it doesn't even need to have both inputs. My SVS has both inputs, but I only need to use one of them.

I'd split the signal at the receiver with a Y.

Run one leg (mono) to each sub.

If your JBL for some reason doesn't like one input, Y it again back to two.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#295051 - 03/04/10 02:35 PM Re: EP500 Hookup It's arrived! [Re: tomtuttle]
Glitchy Offline
aficionado

Registered: 01/28/10
Posts: 578
Loc: Blueridge Foothills, NC
 Originally Posted By: tomtuttle
There's probably no reason whatsoever to run TWO cables to the JBL. It is possible that it doesn't even need to have both inputs. My SVS has both inputs, but I only need to use one of them.

I'd split the signal at the receiver with a Y.

Run one leg (mono) to each sub.

If your JBL for some reason doesn't like one input, Y it again back to two.


Thanks,

I like that idea, don't have to pull another 100' run.
Probably just move and add outlets and sub feed.

I HATE wires exposed, so everything gets fished thru the walls.
_________________________
Fronts/Wides:M22s in/on
Center:VP150/VP100 in/on
Hghts,SS,SR:QS8s
Sub:EP500
AVR:Onkyo 3008

Top
#295052 - 03/04/10 02:36 PM Re: EP500 Hookup It's arrived! [Re: tomtuttle]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
Some subs play at half volume when fed only an L or R. Haven't heard of one built like that for at least 10 years though.
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#295055 - 03/04/10 02:38 PM Re: EP500 Hookup It's arrived! [Re: ClubNeon]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Could just put a Y at the sub end of the single cable, then. Easy enough fix, and no more cable pulling!
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,207 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,595 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
193 Guests and
5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup