You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » The Water Cooler » Raid 1

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#295256 - 03/05/10 05:42 PM Raid 1
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
When I built my computer last year, I purchased 2 1T hard drives and set them up as a Raid 1 mirrored pair. Whenever I leave my computer for too long, like take a nap, it tends to lock up (using Vista), then I have to do a hard reset by holding in the power button. Then it starts rebuilding my raid which takes about 3-4 hours. I was wondering if anyone else has this problem. Perhaps I could just make an adjustment in the power settings to not go to sleep after a certain time or something.

Edit: Well I changed the power settings to High Performance with Never for when to put the computer to sleep. Maybe that will fix my problem.


Edited by CatBrat (03/05/10 05:48 PM)

Top
#295258 - 03/05/10 05:51 PM Re: Raid 1 [Re: CatBrat]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
I assume you have an Intel chipset? Update your drivers.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#295261 - 03/05/10 06:01 PM Re: Raid 1 [Re: CatBrat]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
Yeah, that's the setting you want to change. You can, just set the machine to never sleep while still using the Balanced power plan, which may save some electricity, and generate less heat.

You'll still be forced to do a rebuild on any improper shutdown. You should see how long three RAID6 arrays of eight 1TB drives (that's 24 TB, minus 6 TB for parity data = 18 TB of storage) takes to recheck. (It's about 16 hours.)
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#295262 - 03/05/10 06:04 PM Re: Raid 1 [Re: ClubNeon]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
You should be able to sleep with no problem, if your drivers are of the right revision. We had a hell of a time with those before we updated them in the middle of last year.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#295263 - 03/05/10 06:04 PM Re: Raid 1 [Re: Ken.C]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Intel, yes. I updated the motherboard with new firmware the day I got it up and running.

I just recently reloaded Vista and have had misc. problems ever since. I've been waiting on getting Windows 7 64 bit. Perhaps this will alter my decision to get it sooner, rather than later. I hope this product is the full version and not the upgrade version.

Top
#295264 - 03/05/10 06:08 PM Re: Raid 1 [Re: CatBrat]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
They update the drivers all the time. Worth checking. Our desktops use Vista, and although we rarely sleep them, we don't have any problems like that.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#295265 - 03/05/10 06:19 PM Re: Raid 1 [Re: Ken.C]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Ok. I found this website. I'll give it a go after the raid rebuild is complete.

Top
#295307 - 03/06/10 09:03 AM Re: Raid 1 [Re: CatBrat]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Last night after the raid rebuild, which took 6 hours, the system locked up on me immediately and I had to do another hard reset and run the raid rebuild again. But this morning it's going ok.

This Intel website did me no good since mine is a custom build. I ended up going to Gigabyte website and installing chipset drivers. And going to NVIDIA website and installing video drivers.

Top
#295318 - 03/06/10 01:34 PM Re: Raid 1 [Re: CatBrat]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Boy, I really got things screwed up. I lost my internet connection and couldn't get it back. I reloaded Vista again, then found the disc that came with my motherboard. After loading the Ethernet drivers on this disc, I finally got access to the internet again.

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,255 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,039 Topics
424,555 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13572
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11444
2 registered (2x6spds, CV)
203 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup