You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » ep500 high & low level

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#296659 - 03/15/10 11:32 AM ep500 high & low level
obsi Offline
old hand

Registered: 11/14/09
Posts: 89
Loc: Philippines
I was just wondering if I could safely wire my EP500 to run both on low level input lfe for movies, and high level input for full range music (using zone 2 paralleled with different mains) alternatively? Can I leave both wired in that way so i don't have to keeep pulling out connectors? Thanks!
_________________________
Velo DD18,2xAxiom EP500,2xeD A7-450,2xSVS PB13U,2xSVS SB13P,2xInfinity Kappa12mbm, 2xB&W PCS8

Top
#296665 - 03/15/10 12:37 PM Re: ep500 high & low level [Re: obsi]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
So you've got two different sets of mains?

I suppose, technically, if you were VERY careful, it might work, but if you accidentally leave the zone 2 on at the same time as you're watching a movie, it could be bad.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#296780 - 03/15/10 07:56 PM Re: ep500 high & low level [Re: Ken.C]
obsi Offline
old hand

Registered: 11/14/09
Posts: 89
Loc: Philippines
Yes, I've got a different set of mains which I'm still choosing between my old B&W Dm603s3 floorstanders or Dm601s3 bookshelfs. For HT, I'm still using my old B&W THX FCM8 monitors (3x), SCM8 dipoles (2x). The EP500 does so well in both HT and Music, but the satellites have their own specialties. I will definitely only use them alternatively. So will it be safe to run it on either configuration ALTERNATIVELY while BOTH high and low level inputs are WIRED-IN (both zone 1 and zone 2)? I wanna run zone 2 for my audio only, via high level out from my reciever to the EP500, then parallel the bananas straight to my DM601s3 or DM603s3 just to augment the bass. Whaddya all think? Axiom? Thanks
_________________________
Velo DD18,2xAxiom EP500,2xeD A7-450,2xSVS PB13U,2xSVS SB13P,2xInfinity Kappa12mbm, 2xB&W PCS8

Top
#296781 - 03/15/10 07:59 PM Re: ep500 high & low level [Re: obsi]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Probably best to give Axiom a call. They do check the boards, but not all the time.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#296790 - 03/15/10 10:35 PM Re: ep500 high & low level [Re: obsi]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10634
Note that the manual states that the high level connection shouldn't be used if the line level conection is used.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#296816 - 03/16/10 08:46 AM Re: ep500 high & low level [Re: JohnK]
obsi Offline
old hand

Registered: 11/14/09
Posts: 89
Loc: Philippines
But what if there's no signal on the line level, then doesn't that count as line level not being used? Thanks!
_________________________
Velo DD18,2xAxiom EP500,2xeD A7-450,2xSVS PB13U,2xSVS SB13P,2xInfinity Kappa12mbm, 2xB&W PCS8

Top
#296823 - 03/16/10 11:09 AM Re: ep500 high & low level [Re: obsi]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
You'd have to be very, very careful not to have them on at the same time. Otherwise you could end up with one signal trying to drive the other. Still would, even with it turned off.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#296828 - 03/16/10 11:41 AM Re: ep500 high & low level [Re: obsi]
HAY Offline
aficionado

Registered: 12/31/03
Posts: 725
Loc: Burlington, Ontario
If it notes it in the manual then warranty would be void...
_________________________
High Gloss Cherry
M60 VP150 QS8
Open for Auditions but please don't drool on the High Gloss

Top
#296830 - 03/16/10 11:46 AM Re: ep500 high & low level [Re: obsi]
alan Offline

connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3266
Loc: Toronto/New York/parry Sound
Hello obsi,

The reason we advise against leaving both high and low level connected at the same time is that when one input is operating, either high or low level, and the other is still connected, the circuit will "bleed off" a voltage and send it up the line or low level input back into your AV receiver or amplifier, with unpredictable and likely negative consequences.

Even if you connected a switch to disable one of the inputs while the other was being used, you or someone else might forget, and cause damage.

Regards,
Alan
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)

Top
#296844 - 03/16/10 01:28 PM Re: ep500 high & low level [Re: alan]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13576
Loc: Iowa
as the others have commented, I would not recommend you do this..just get another sub.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,260 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,055 Topics
424,824 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13576
CV 11681
MarkSJohnson 11444
1 registered (Gr8_White_North)
35 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup