You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » m60 in cabinet have 4 ohm stickers ?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#299568 - 03/30/10 09:34 PM m60 in cabinet have 4 ohm stickers ?
axiomoholic Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/20/10
Posts: 110
just got a beautiful pair of in-cabinet speakers, m60. I was surprised to see that they were finished all the way around! The front flange is in the black woodgrain, the rest is a nice slightly textured vinyl. I could use them as floor standers if I ever drop the "cabinet".

Interestingly, stickers on the box, and the enclosures themselves both say 4 ohms. Anyone have any ideas why?

They are letting themselves be driven very easily on the warm up I'm presently enjoying.

Top
#299570 - 03/30/10 09:43 PM Re: m60 in cabinet have 4 ohm stickers ? [Re: axiomoholic]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Hmmmmmmm, I would think that it is a misprinted sticker, it has happened in the past, but you never know, Ian could have redeisgned them to be 4 ohm and the web site is incorrect. Just to douible check the sticker also says 60 on it too and you have only one tweeter and midrange. the specs page also has some different wording on it:

X-Over 200 Hz & 2 kHz
Tweeter: Single 1"
Woofer: Single 5.25"
Sub Woofer: Dual 6.5"


Since when does the M60 have a subwoofer?

Oh! Congrats on the new speakers!! \:\)


Edited by jakewash (03/30/10 09:44 PM)
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#299603 - 03/30/10 11:09 PM Re: m60 in cabinet have 4 ohm stickers ? [Re: jakewash]
axiomoholic Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/20/10
Posts: 110
no - unfortionatly they didn't send me m80's by mistake! they have the driver config of the m60's.

Top
#299613 - 03/31/10 12:10 AM Re: m60 in cabinet have 4 ohm stickers ? [Re: axiomoholic]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
We haven't heard anything in the Council about the M60s going 4 ohm, but that's about all I can say.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#299627 - 03/31/10 06:16 AM Re: m60 in cabinet have 4 ohm stickers ? [Re: Ken.C]
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 11444
Loc: Central NH
 Originally Posted By: kcarlile
that's about all I can say.


That's all you CAN say, that's all you WILL say or that all you KNOW? Huh? WHICH IS IT?

(Prodding of "The Man" starts....)
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#299645 - 03/31/10 09:51 AM Re: m60 in cabinet have 4 ohm stickers ? [Re: MarkSJohnson]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
That's all I know about the M60s.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#299663 - 03/31/10 12:08 PM Re: m60 in cabinet have 4 ohm stickers ? [Re: Ken.C]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13576
Loc: Iowa
I would call the 800 number and talk to one of the techs. As Ken mentioned, this is new news to us. \:\)
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#299694 - 03/31/10 03:01 PM Re: m60 in cabinet have 4 ohm stickers ? [Re: SirQuack]
axiomoholic Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/20/10
Posts: 110
I'm not worried - my amp can drive it either way - and it's sounding great.

I can't wait to get it in the wall - where its cross-over's were designed for it to be situated.

Top
#299719 - 03/31/10 04:07 PM Re: m60 in cabinet have 4 ohm stickers ? [Re: axiomoholic]
htnut
Unregistered


 Originally Posted By: axiomoholic
Interestingly, stickers on the box, and the enclosures themselves both say 4 ohms.


There is supposedly a mysterious 4 ohm VP150 lurking around the woods as well.

Top
#299720 - 03/31/10 04:12 PM Re: m60 in cabinet have 4 ohm stickers ? [Re: ]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
It's my VP150 which is 8 Ohms instead of 6.

Or so it says.


Edited by ClubNeon (03/31/10 04:12 PM)
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,260 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,055 Topics
424,801 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13576
CV 11681
MarkSJohnson 11444
1 registered (Kevin1)
178 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup