Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Speaker Wire?
#3008 05/11/02 01:19 AM
kayizm Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
I am new to home theater and I just purchased the M22TI speakers and I would like to know what wire (not too expensive but good quality) is recomended for these speakers?
My system so far

Reciever- Denon 1802
Speakers- Fronts -M22TI
DVD- Sony DVPNS700P
TV- Sony KP43HT20

Re: Speaker Wire?
#3009 05/11/02 08:45 AM
veteran
veteran
This topic has been covered in several posts (over and over) recently. As I recall, both Ian and Alan (and I am in agreement) recommend good quality 12 gage stranded copper wire. (and yes you CAN get it at Home Depot or Radio Shack - and even Monster Cable will work just fine!) I know Ravi is enamered with some stuff from Kimber Cable - but I believe you would be better served to put your $ in good equipment and not overpriced "exotic" speaker wire.

Good Luck

Randyman

#3010 05/13/02 01:10 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
Randyman

My Kimber 4PR is more detailed than my Phoenix Gold 12 Ga, especially in the upper range of sounds. However, since it's about $3 a foot, I wouldn't recommend buying it at that price. I bought stuff from Marc at audioshop.on.ca, and he has a special where you get speakers, stands, and Kimber 4PR. It was WELL worth it!

#3011 05/14/02 03:05 AM
veteran
veteran
Ravi,

Sorry if I sounded like I was putting you or your opinion down about the speaker wire. That was NOT my intention! Everyone comes to their own decisions based on their particular experiences, background, wants, needs, etc.

Personally I have never been able to really hear any difference in good quality 12 gage wire vs some of the exotics (but it has been a few years since I have had an oppurtunity)