You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Stereo » Buffers?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#303540 - 04/27/10 05:20 PM Buffers?
TonyMc Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/27/10
Posts: 63
Does anyone here use a buffer? particularly a tube buffer?
I want to pick one up to run inline with my CD player.
I want to mess with different tubes. See what kind of sound I get.

Top
#303541 - 04/27/10 05:38 PM Re: Buffers? [Re: TonyMc]
RickF Offline
axiomite

Registered: 02/26/05
Posts: 5210
Loc: Vero Beach, Florida
You may want to give one of these guys a shout, sounds like there's some experienced tube buffers in there...

http://www.axiomaudio.com/boards/ubbthre...&gonew=1#UNREAD
_________________________
Rick
Our Room

smile

Top
#303542 - 04/27/10 05:43 PM Re: Buffers? [Re: RickF]
TonyMc Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/27/10
Posts: 63
Thanks Rick.
That thread seems to go off in all kinds of different directions. \:\)

Top
#303543 - 04/27/10 05:44 PM Re: Buffers? [Re: TonyMc]
RickF Offline
axiomite

Registered: 02/26/05
Posts: 5210
Loc: Vero Beach, Florida
As most seem to do.
_________________________
Rick
Our Room

smile

Top
#303559 - 04/27/10 06:44 PM Re: Buffers? [Re: RickF]
TonyMc Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/27/10
Posts: 63
Well it's been pretty slow here at work today so I did some research on this little unit I found: Yaqin tube buffer
I think I'll give it a whirl.

Top
#303658 - 04/28/10 12:05 PM Re: Buffers? [Re: TonyMc]
TonyMc Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/27/10
Posts: 63
Man this is some sort of addiction.
I ordered the Yaqin buffer yesterday and now I'm already looking a few replacement tubes to try.
This whole thing started last Aug with a HTiB. LOL \:\)

Top
#303661 - 04/28/10 12:07 PM Re: Buffers? [Re: TonyMc]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
Think of us as your support group. Except we are doing it wrong.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#303662 - 04/28/10 12:10 PM Re: Buffers? [Re: Murph]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8488
Loc: Tacoma
LOL Andrew!
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#303664 - 04/28/10 12:14 PM Re: Buffers? [Re: Murph]
TonyMc Offline
old hand

Registered: 03/27/10
Posts: 63
 Originally Posted By: Murph
Think of us as your support group. Except we are doing it wrong.


As long as you say it's OK... I'm OK.

Top
#303758 - 04/28/10 09:24 PM Re: Buffers? [Re: TonyMc]
a401classic Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/29/06
Posts: 1328
Loc: Alpharetta, GA
 Originally Posted By: TonyMc
Does anyone here use a buffer?


OK, late to the game, but couldn't resist..

I use three buffers; pH = 4.01, pH = 7.00, and pH = 10.02. makes a nice 3 point calibration.
_________________________
Scott

My HT

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,255 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,041 Topics
424,565 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13572
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
189 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup