You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » VP 150 -no sound

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#307771 - 05/22/10 02:09 PM VP 150 -no sound
Ashok Offline
regular

Registered: 05/22/10
Posts: 8
I have a rx-v 3900 yamaha receiver and i run it with my axiom vs-150,m-60,qs 8,and EP-500.I run the receiver in 8 omhs.

I first had a problem with my vs 150...there was no sound and when i contacted axiom they said that the drivers have failed and sent me a replacement speaker.Again after running for 10days the center speakers failed and again i found that all the 3 mid range drivers are blown.Is there are problem in my setup.i get no sound from my qs 8 as well on one side,,,i feel that the drivers in that too has failed.and today my sub also stopped working...no sound from the sub...i keep blowing all the drivers.Is it the problem that my speakers dont match the receiver ? Has anyone fased similier problems?
Ashok
India

Top
#307772 - 05/22/10 02:12 PM Re: VP 150 -no sound [Re: Ashok]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
surge suppressor?

Top
#307775 - 05/22/10 02:23 PM Re: VP 150 -no sound [Re: CatBrat]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4116
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
The rx-v 3900 yamaha receiver should have no issues driving that system. It is perfectly compatible. You are also doing the correct thing in setting the yamaha to 8 ohms instead of the 4 ohm option.

The possible causes I can think of are a defective receiver, powering the receiver beyond its capabilities which is inducing clipping and damaging the speakers or maybe a underlying problem with electrical storms which damaged your receiver and or speakers (do you get these in India and if so have you had them lately?). Do you also like to listen to movies/music at what you consider very loud playback levels?

Very strange problem indeed. You might see 1 blown driver but you are blowing multiple drivers in multiple speakers. Are the tweeters functional? This is a rare case.
_________________________
I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
#307797 - 05/22/10 05:47 PM Re: VP 150 -no sound [Re: BlueJays1]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13572
Loc: Iowa
there is no problems with the speakers, if this is a true story, you must have issues in your receiver or some other power issue. 1 defective vp150 is possible, but 2 is hardly likely.

sorry your having issues.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#307838 - 05/22/10 11:40 PM Re: VP 150 -no sound [Re: SirQuack]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
The fact that the system works for awhile and then failures start certainly suggests some sort of power issue either through the receiver or the receiver itself, ie clipping. I would be trying a good surge suppressor like Panamax, Belkin or similar for starters. Also if possible try running the system with a known good avr perhaps borrowed from a friend.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#308169 - 05/26/10 12:29 PM Re: VP 150 -no sound [Re: jakewash]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4195
Loc: Up yonder
Are you in India?

Is so, what's the voltage / hertz in India? Is the 3900 compatable?
_________________________


Top
#308177 - 05/26/10 02:05 PM Re: VP 150 -no sound [Re: michael_d]
Ashok Offline
regular

Registered: 05/22/10
Posts: 8
hi michael,
in india the power supply is 220v and my amp is 220v...Also i would like to mention that i am using vp 100 now without any problem on the same amp
regards
ashok

Top
#308184 - 05/26/10 02:27 PM Re: VP 150 -no sound [Re: Ashok]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Can you try the VP 100 on all the different channel the amp has just in case the 3900 has some faulty amp sections, although this could render the VP100 inoperable as well.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,255 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,041 Topics
424,570 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13572
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
204 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup