You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Stereo » M60s in cabinet?

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#308261 - 05/27/10 11:42 AM M60s in cabinet?
Jauchart Offline
newbie

Registered: 05/27/10
Posts: 1
I'm about to buy a pair of M60v2s for my new home. I, of course, would like to just set them on the living room floor, but as part of the Wife Appeasement Factor, have agreed to put then into the wall cabinets. My plan was to set them in cabinets without their own floor, so that they were actually set on the real floor, with speaker cloth covering the front (and when I really wanted to listen, open the cabinet doors and pull the speakers out!).
As it turns out, this is more complicated than I thought. It is not just the cabinet, but the kick plate below that has to have at least 15" interior space to accommodate these speakers. I don't have that much room; I only have a total of 15". This means putting the speakers in the cabinet--up on the cabinet floor, which is a couple of inches off the real floor. How much of a problem is this? Am I just going to be vibrating that whole wall of cabinets (and the bookshelves above)? Any suggestions?

Top
#308268 - 05/27/10 12:26 PM Re: M60s in cabinet? [Re: Jauchart]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
The in-cabinet M60s are meant to be set on the floor of the cabinet as the front baffle extends beyond the bottom of the speaker base. The speakers were designed to have the front baffle protrude in front of the cabinet it is mounted into as that front baffle has a lip all the way around for a slightly proud placement in the cabinet.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#308274 - 05/27/10 01:15 PM Re: M60s in cabinet? [Re: jakewash]
Adrian Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/27/08
Posts: 6884
Loc: It's all about the location.
Don't the in-cab's come with some isolation padding to go underneath the cab/support?
_________________________
Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.

Top
#308275 - 05/27/10 01:22 PM Re: M60s in cabinet? [Re: Jauchart]
alan Offline

connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3264
Loc: Toronto/New York/parry Sound
Hi Jauchart,

Your plan is to get regular floor-standing M60s, not our dedicated in-cabinet M60s that are designed for in-cabinet mounting, correct?

If you recess regular M60s into an enclosure in a cabinet, it will change the tonal balance, usually in a negative way, because of the reflections and diffractions caused by the surrounding cabinetry. We designed the in-cabinet M60s to overcome many of those problems.

I think Jakewash misunderstood your question. If the WAF means the speakers will be inside the cabinet much of the time, you should get the in-cabinet models, which also use a big front-mounted port to avoid the loading problems that rear-ported speakers may have if they're recesssed into cabinetry.

http://www.axiomaudio.com/m60-in-cabinet.html

Regards,
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)

Top
#308276 - 05/27/10 01:41 PM Re: M60s in cabinet? [Re: alan]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I was thinking about using in-cabinet versions from the start.

I am unsure as to whether or not the in-cabs come with some sort of isolation pads, I think they do. If not, buying some elsewhere is not that difficult. Hopefully the few forum mambers that have in-cabs will be along or Alan might drop back in.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#308280 - 05/27/10 02:28 PM Re: M60s in cabinet? [Re: jakewash]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13571
Loc: Iowa
you would be better off considering the "in-cabinet" version of the m60's, otherwise you will be sacrificing performance.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#308674 - 05/30/10 07:14 PM Re: M60s in cabinet? [Re: SirQuack]
axiomoholic Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/20/10
Posts: 110
I have In cabinets, they do have rubber on bottom, I put them in a wall, about a foot above floor. I've never been able to compare them to a non in cabinet version from axiom, but my cabinet 60s are awesome.

Top
#308675 - 05/30/10 07:18 PM Re: M60s in cabinet? [Re: axiomoholic]
axiomoholic Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/20/10
Posts: 110
To add... I think they sound better raised a bit. That has an extra plus of putting the mid woofer closer to the middle of my flat screen.

I have not noticed any cabinet vibration. I have felt none. And as Alan mentioned, the crossovers were designed for cabinet to be in-line with the wall. So I would not worry about pulling the out of cabinet when the wife is away!

Top
#309644 - 06/06/10 10:59 PM Re: M60s in cabinet? [Re: axiomoholic]
elsewhere Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 06/05/10
Posts: 24
Anyone have any recommendations for a/v furniture to put the in-cabinet m60s in along with the LCD and receiver, etc?

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,245 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,030 Topics
424,405 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
179 Guests and
2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup