You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » EP500 Popping?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#308285 - 05/27/10 03:02 PM EP500 Popping?
bolt148 Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 04/12/10
Posts: 17
Loc: Los Angeles, CA
Recently I adjusted the subwoofer output level on my NAD receiver because I wasn't getting the bass output that I wanted from my EP500. So I set the level to plus 5, and adjusted the volume on the EP500. However, I found that when I adjusted the sub output on my receiver, the EP500 occasionally made this popping noise from the cone during extreme LFE tracks. I thought it was just a fault with the audio track on this particular movie, but it happened on multiple movies. Does anyone have any suggestions?

I know that it is supposed to be impossible to clip an EP500, but that sure sounds like what is happening to me. I adjusted the sub level back to 0 on my receiver and that seemed to fix the problem, but it really makes me wonder.
_________________________
This is my witty signature.

Top
#308288 - 05/27/10 03:24 PM Re: EP500 Popping? [Re: bolt148]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
You could be clipping the output of the receiver. A clipped signal going into the sub will result in clipped output.
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#308289 - 05/27/10 03:30 PM Re: EP500 Popping? [Re: ClubNeon]
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 11444
Loc: Central NH
As usual, Chris is 100% correct.
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#308294 - 05/27/10 04:12 PM Re: EP500 Popping? [Re: MarkSJohnson]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
If you want more output from the sub turn IT'S volume/gain control up and try to keep the avr setting near zero. If this still doesn't give you what you want it is time for multiple subs or a bigger one or both.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#308298 - 05/27/10 04:22 PM Re: EP500 Popping? [Re: jakewash]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
Or just a new location. As many will tell you, with subwoofers, it's location, location, location.
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#308301 - 05/27/10 04:31 PM Re: EP500 Popping? [Re: ClubNeon]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Locating the sub in a corner is another potential way to increase it's apparent output.


Have you tried the sub crawl? Maybe you are just listening in a dead spot in the room.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#308302 - 05/27/10 04:31 PM Re: EP500 Popping? [Re: bolt148]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4116
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
 Originally Posted By: bolt148
Recently I adjusted the subwoofer output level on my NAD receiver because I wasn't getting the bass output that I wanted from my EP500. So I set the level to plus 5, and adjusted the volume on the EP500. However, I found that when I adjusted the sub output on my receiver, the EP500 occasionally made this popping noise from the cone during extreme LFE tracks. I thought it was just a fault with the audio track on this particular movie, but it happened on multiple movies. Does anyone have any suggestions?

I know that it is supposed to be impossible to clip an EP500, but that sure sounds like what is happening to me. I adjusted the sub level back to 0 on my receiver and that seemed to fix the problem, but it really makes me wonder.


Did you just purchase the EP500 recently? Supposedly on the newer EP500 individuals have noted they have to increase the pre-out signal significantly on the receiver to get the output they wanted. This was never a problem with the older amp versions. Certainly having the sub pre-out level set to +5 could produce this "pop". Turn down the sub pre-out to around +1 or +2 and turn up the gain control on sub to compensate (as much as you need).

As for being impossible to clip the EP500, if you try hard enough you can get ANY sub to make unwanted sounds such as "flapping", "rattling" and "popping".
_________________________
I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
#308339 - 05/27/10 07:24 PM Re: EP500 Popping? [Re: BlueJays1]
fredk Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 7786
Loc: Canada
 Quote:
As for being impossible to clip the EP500, if you try hard enough you can get ANY sub to make unwanted sounds such as "flapping", "rattling" and "popping".

Not if the sub is DSP limited. That sub is happily running within its limits and reproducing exactly the signal fed to it.

Bolt, you can sleep well tonight knowing that the EP500 is giving you the most accurate reproduction of receiver output clipping money can buy. ;\)
_________________________
Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!

Top
#308341 - 05/27/10 07:25 PM Re: EP500 Popping? [Re: BlueJays1]
bolt148 Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 04/12/10
Posts: 17
Loc: Los Angeles, CA
To answer a few questions;

I do have a newer EP500 (Purchased in the last two months)

I know I should do the subwoofer crawl, but my placement options are extremely limited, so I didn't bother. My house is not very ideal at all for audio.

As far as the gain is concerned, I had the volume turned almost all the way up and it was barely hitting. That's why I wanted it a little louder. I think I have it at a little more than 3/4 of the way up.
_________________________
This is my witty signature.

Top
#308344 - 05/27/10 07:32 PM Re: EP500 Popping? [Re: bolt148]
fredk Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 7786
Loc: Canada
 Quote:
I know I should do the subwoofer crawl, but my placement options are extremely limited, so I didn't bother.

If you're seating area is in a bass null, turning up the volume, or even putting a second sub in the same location will make no difference. In a null, you have reflections that put sound waves in a given frequency out of phase, so they cancel each other out. Turn the volume up on your sub and you turn up the volume on the out of phase sound wave.

If you can't move the sub, can you shift your seating a little to see if that improves the bass?
_________________________
Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,255 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,039 Topics
424,556 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13572
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11444
2 registered (JohnK, CV)
183 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup