You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Vp 150 and Vp180 question

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#309768 - 06/07/10 07:48 PM Vp 150 and Vp180 question
gianquittia Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/12/10
Posts: 15
Loc: West Virginia
I have the VP150 with two M60s, ep500, and 4 qs8. I have run the MCACC with front align, symmetry, and all around settings. I also had a professional calibrate my speakers with some software and SPL meter. With all ways, the professional way sounded simply stunning for sound effects and music. I have one problem with all MCACC methods and professional method. I can hear the VP150 dialogue amazing sometimes, then other times I am wondering what the "F" did he/she just say. Some places I have problems hearing dialogue that I have noticed so far are all Lord of the Rings extended DVDs in DTS. When there isn't much sound effects/music going on I can usually make the dialogue out well, but when the craziness begins I sometimes can't understand dialogue. During the storm scene in Master and Commander I have problems. I have noticed in spots with limited sound effects also in a lot of movies. All speakers were adjusted for sound level using an SPL meter. So it isn't because the other speakers are drowing the center out. I hear dialogue, just don't understand what they are saying. I then run through every MCACC setting I have set up, and it changes a bit, but not crystal clear like I would like. Does anyone else have this problem? I am going to trade in the VP150 for the VP180 in hopes that the new speaker can fix the problem, but it would make me feel better if others are experiencing similar issues with the 150. Other than that these speakers are amazing.
_________________________
Stuff:
Pioneer Kuro 141
Pioneer SC-25
Pioneer BDP-23
M60s, VP180, EP500, 4xQS8
Xbox360,Wii,PS3

Top
#309770 - 06/07/10 07:49 PM Re: Vp 150 and Vp180 question [Re: gianquittia]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
I suspect that it's much more of a problem with how the movies are mastered.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#309775 - 06/07/10 08:16 PM Re: Vp 150 and Vp180 question [Re: Ken.C]
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 11444
Loc: Central NH
Many people bump the center channel level up a couple of dB above the level of the rest of their speakers for just this reason. Usually, movies are mixed pretty well, but some TV shows are now mixing dialog lower and letting actors talk "under their breathe" for a feeling of "realism". Of course, reality shows have uneven audio sometimes due to their somewhat unpredictable miking needs. Some audio engineer are caught up in the "make everything louder than everything else" style of mixing, leaving vocals and narration lower in the mix.

Try raising the center 2dB at your receiver, and it'll likely help voices rise a bit above the din.

Of course, initial accounts are that the VP180 wouldn't be a mistake, either! \:\)
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#309782 - 06/07/10 09:50 PM Re: Vp 150 and Vp180 question [Re: gianquittia]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10634
Anthony, on occasion the mains are in fact drowning out the center channel dialog, but it isn't because the calibration is incorrect. Some center channel dialog in movies is mixed too low and when a lot is going on in the other channels, the dialog can't be heard clearly over it. The center channel can be bumped up 3-4dB in those situations, but then they're too loud in other situations if they're not turned back down.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#309784 - 06/07/10 10:11 PM Re: Vp 150 and Vp180 question [Re: JohnK]
gianquittia Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/12/10
Posts: 15
Loc: West Virginia
Thank you for all the replies. I'll try bumping the center up a few decibels.
_________________________
Stuff:
Pioneer Kuro 141
Pioneer SC-25
Pioneer BDP-23
M60s, VP180, EP500, 4xQS8
Xbox360,Wii,PS3

Top
#309835 - 06/08/10 02:45 PM Re: Vp 150 and Vp180 question [Re: gianquittia]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8488
Loc: Tacoma
Speaker placement can be a very big issue. Do you have any pictures? Do you have any flexibility about how the center channel is positioned?
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#309836 - 06/08/10 02:48 PM Re: Vp 150 and Vp180 question [Re: gianquittia]
alan Offline

connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3266
Loc: Toronto/New York/parry Sound
Hi,

Yes, I frequently bump up the center by 3 dB or more if the program has murky dialog intellibility.

Try +4 dB and I think you'll hear every word.

Regards,
Alan
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)

Top
#309837 - 06/08/10 03:25 PM Re: Vp 150 and Vp180 question [Re: alan]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
I wish AVR's and RF remotes had an easy way to do this, but for Pioneer and 1100 remote, you have to pause the movie, make about 6 button presses to enter MCACC home menu, then go about 3 menus more deeper, make the changes, then about 10 more button presses to exit MCACC and reset the remote to where you need it, then press play. After doing this a few times, a little soft dialog doesn't seem so bad.

Top
#309843 - 06/08/10 05:08 PM Re: Vp 150 and Vp180 question [Re: CatBrat]
gianquittia Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/12/10
Posts: 15
Loc: West Virginia
 Originally Posted By: CatBrat
I wish AVR's and RF remotes had an easy way to do this, but for Pioneer and 1100 remote, you have to pause the movie, make about 6 button presses to enter MCACC home menu, then go about 3 menus more deeper, make the changes, then about 10 more button presses to exit MCACC and reset the remote to where you need it, then press play. After doing this a few times, a little soft dialog doesn't seem so bad.


Hey Catbrat,
You can copy your MCACC setting to a different MCACC # and up the decibels on that one, so then you just have to switch your MCACC number without going into any menus.
_________________________
Stuff:
Pioneer Kuro 141
Pioneer SC-25
Pioneer BDP-23
M60s, VP180, EP500, 4xQS8
Xbox360,Wii,PS3

Top
#309844 - 06/08/10 05:28 PM Re: Vp 150 and Vp180 question [Re: gianquittia]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Yeah, your right. I used to use them for something else I don't use anymore, so, yeah, good idea. Thanks.

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,270 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,071 Topics
425,064 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13579
CV 11694
MarkSJohnson 11444
1 registered (CV)
195 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup