You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Are the sub amp pictures accurate?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#311421 - 06/23/10 05:24 PM Are the sub amp pictures accurate?
SteveP Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/10/10
Posts: 19
I was just wondering, for instance on the ep500 the spec sheet says that it has line in/out and high level in/out, but I don't see any line in/outs, only high level on the pictures. Also on the ep350 the specs say it has crossover adjustment from 40-150, but the pictures only show a 80/150 switch.
_________________________
The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it.
- GBS

Top
#311430 - 06/23/10 06:34 PM Re: Are the sub amp pictures accurate? [Re: SteveP]
SteveP Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/10/10
Posts: 19
Is this just a dumb question, I mean someone has to know this.
_________________________
The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it.
- GBS

Top
#311432 - 06/23/10 06:40 PM Re: Are the sub amp pictures accurate? [Re: SteveP]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Yes, the specs are out of date, to some degree. The EP500 does have line in and out, but they're XLR connectors (the EP350 also does). However, the line in XLR connector comes with a RCA->1/4" plug installed, which is electrically an unbalanced connection as you would need with most home theatre equipment these days. The crossover switch on the EP350 is indeed only that 80/150 switch.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#311434 - 06/23/10 06:57 PM Re: Are the sub amp pictures accurate? [Re: Ken.C]
SteveP Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/10/10
Posts: 19
What about trim adjustment. Some of the older reviews I have read of these subs mention it. Is that no longer a feature, and if not anyone know why?
_________________________
The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it.
- GBS

Top
#311435 - 06/23/10 07:01 PM Re: Are the sub amp pictures accurate? [Re: SteveP]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4116
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
lol...yeah the older reviews are not really accurate to today. I don't think there is a trim adjustment on the EP500 anymore. However, they have added a subsonic filter.
_________________________
I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
#311445 - 06/23/10 07:45 PM Re: Are the sub amp pictures accurate? [Re: BlueJays1]
SteveP Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/10/10
Posts: 19
Ok thanks. Next question my theater is 12x10 is a ep500 to much for that size?
_________________________
The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it.
- GBS

Top
#311447 - 06/23/10 07:46 PM Re: Are the sub amp pictures accurate? [Re: SteveP]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Ain't no such thing as too much. Um. That's the standard line, but it might get exciting in there!

I'd love to hear it.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#311450 - 06/23/10 08:02 PM Re: Are the sub amp pictures accurate? [Re: Ken.C]
SteveP Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/10/10
Posts: 19
Ha. No I intend to get a larger theater in the future, so I guess it really doesn't matter. At the moment I have and old infinity BU-120 (with a broken amp, like most of them) but I switched the amp out with a dayton sa-240. It's descent, but I recently bought m-80's to go with my vp-150, and I figured as good as they are the subs would be fantastic. I just don't like that the ep350 just has the switch for the crossover. Otherwise I might get that instead. I keep spending more and more on my theater stuff, just don't want to get more than I need ya know.
_________________________
The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it.
- GBS

Top
#311451 - 06/23/10 08:03 PM Re: Are the sub amp pictures accurate? [Re: SteveP]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Eh, you don't need a manual crossover on a sub. You should (and I have) just flip it to 150 and do all the crossing in your receiver.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#311460 - 06/23/10 08:17 PM Re: Are the sub amp pictures accurate? [Re: Ken.C]
SteveP Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/10/10
Posts: 19
ok I'm learning here. Crossover on my receiver is set at 40, but I can tell a difference when I adjust the crossover on the sub, so... how do you bypass that adjustment, or is my $100 sub amp to pathetic to do that?
_________________________
The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it.
- GBS

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,624 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
216 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup