You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » ep350 no sound

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#313495 - 07/06/10 02:02 PM ep350 no sound
rad_sci_guy Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 11/27/03
Posts: 34
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Hi everyone

I just traded up subs from the ep125 to the ep350 v3. I got the 350 yesterday and when I plugged it in it was receiving power (green light) but there was no sound coming out. I'm using a coaxial cable attached to the provided phono adapter and plugging that into the sub. This cable does work with the ep125 plugged directly into that sub's line in (it's an older model).

The receiver doesn't see the sub when I run the auto calibrate. Also I tried the white nose sound level testing on the receiver and I can only hear noise when I attach the ep125.

Does anyone know what might cause this?
_________________________
____________________________

Axiom M60, M2i, VP100, QS4, EP350v3
Yamaha RX-V1400

Top
#313496 - 07/06/10 02:12 PM Re: ep350 no sound [Re: rad_sci_guy]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
I would call or e-mail Axiom with this problem. I didn't see a solution in the EP350 trouble shooting guide.

Top
#313497 - 07/06/10 02:14 PM Re: ep350 no sound [Re: CatBrat]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
Double check that you've pushed the phono adapter in firmly. Otherwise, call Axiom, they may be able to walk you through some ideas of what to try.
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#313498 - 07/06/10 02:20 PM Re: ep350 no sound [Re: ClubNeon]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
I'm virtually certain it's the phono adapter not being quite seated right. I had the same problem with mine.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#313500 - 07/06/10 02:43 PM Re: ep350 no sound [Re: rad_sci_guy]
Jc Offline

aficionado

Registered: 06/27/06
Posts: 526
Loc: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada
Hi rad_sci_guy,
I just email you a trick to eliminbate the possibility of a phono to rca adaptor issue.

Good luck
_________________________
jc

Top
#313884 - 07/09/10 11:56 AM Re: ep350 no sound [Re: rad_sci_guy]
rad_sci_guy Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 11/27/03
Posts: 34
Loc: Toronto, Canada
just to keep everyone else informed about this problem should it happen to others, JC suggested I hook up the sub using speaker wire to eliminate the possibility of a jack issue. When I did that there was still no sound from the sub.

Axiom is now sending me a replacement amp for the sub. I'll be exchanging the amp and sending Axiom back the old one.
_________________________
____________________________

Axiom M60, M2i, VP100, QS4, EP350v3
Yamaha RX-V1400

Top
#313961 - 07/10/10 05:59 AM Re: ep350 no sound [Re: rad_sci_guy]
rad_sci_guy Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 11/27/03
Posts: 34
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Well I tried the second amp in the sub and the same problem, no sound.

I thought there may be a connection problem with the cone and the amp, so I removed the cone and when I looked inside the box I found a disconnected speaker wire. I re-connected the wire and fired up the sub one more time and this time I had sound.

All is well.


Edited by rad_sci_guy (07/10/10 06:00 AM)
_________________________
____________________________

Axiom M60, M2i, VP100, QS4, EP350v3
Yamaha RX-V1400

Top
#313962 - 07/10/10 06:20 AM Re: ep350 no sound [Re: rad_sci_guy]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11677
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
Congratulations on finding the fix!

Top
#314009 - 07/10/10 02:11 PM Re: ep350 no sound [Re: CV]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I am somewhat surprised Axiom didn't ask you to do that in the first place. I am also surprised none of us suggested it right away as well, we are slipping up!

Glad you fixed it. Are you happy with the sounds coming from it now?
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#314159 - 07/11/10 05:22 PM Re: ep350 no sound [Re: jakewash]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13572
Loc: Iowa
Same thing happened to me once on an EP500. Not sure how this gets to shipping and passed quality control, and unlikely it happened in shipment. But I was told that the person on the line would be notified. smile
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,254 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,039 Topics
424,552 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13572
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
210 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup