You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Stereo » Amp repair

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#317090 - 07/30/10 09:51 AM Amp repair
Shoie Offline
enthusiast

Registered: 06/18/09
Posts: 32
Loc: Paris On, Canada
I have an older Denon 2 channel amp that is down to one channel. Does anyone know where to take it in the KW or Brantford area to get it fixed?

Thanks
_________________________
Always upgrading...

Top
#317111 - 07/30/10 02:17 PM Re: Amp repair [Re: Shoie]
alan Offline

connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3265
Loc: Toronto/New York/parry Sound
Hi,

You might email Denon Canada and find out what service guys or outlets are authorized to make repairs on Denon products. Denon Canada used to be in the Toronto region, and I expect they still are.

Service tends to be very expensive, about $80 or $90 an hour, so you have to weight that against whether it's worthwhile fixing the amp.

Regards,
Alan
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)

Top
#317112 - 07/30/10 02:43 PM Re: Amp repair [Re: alan]
Adrian Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/27/08
Posts: 6888
Loc: It's all about the location.
You might also ask at your nearest Audio Video Unltd dealer as they are a Denon dealer. Maybe they could give you some idea as to the cost, or where to get it fixed whether that be Denon or a local guy. When all is said and done, as Alan said, you might consider a replacement altogether.
_________________________
Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.

Top
#317148 - 07/30/10 06:38 PM Re: Amp repair [Re: Shoie]
fredk Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 7786
Loc: Canada
Steve's TV in Kitchener still has service techs and they are a Denon dealer, so you might try them.
_________________________
Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!

Top
#318102 - 08/09/10 10:18 PM Re: Amp repair [Re: fredk]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4116
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
Unless you are really attached to this amp it is probably not going to be cost effective to fix. When you say "older", how old is it?
_________________________
Iím armed and Iím drinking. You donít want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
#318208 - 08/10/10 06:29 PM Re: Amp repair [Re: BlueJays1]
Cork Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/19/10
Posts: 100
Loc: Pennsylvania, US
>> When you say "older", how old is it?

DrH, why do you ask that? I'm in the same boat; I have an old Harman/Kardon amp (A402; ~30 years) that I'm dying to get fixed. Sometimes both channels work, sometimes only one. But back in the day I thought the thing was top notch. Should I give up this fantasy or what?

Top
#318215 - 08/10/10 06:40 PM Re: Amp repair [Re: Cork]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4116
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
If you are really attached to this piece of vintage gear and can afford to fix it, then yes it is worth looking at getting fixed. It may or may not be cost effective and there is risk involved with stuff like this. Depends whats wrong with it. Labour is expensive.

Is the one channel cutting in/out intermittent or dependent on the volume control? Any "crackling" sounds occurring when this happens?
_________________________
Iím armed and Iím drinking. You donít want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
#318272 - 08/11/10 01:11 AM Re: Amp repair [Re: Cork]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10631
Cork, Dr. Horse may be suggesting that a dirty volume(or other)control is causing one channel to be intermittent. If so, the first thing to do would be to try running the control quickly all the way up and down(with the sound off, of course)at least a couple dozen times to see if this has enough cleaning effect to help.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#318273 - 08/11/10 05:59 AM Re: Amp repair [Re: JohnK]
Cork Offline
veteran

Registered: 03/19/10
Posts: 100
Loc: Pennsylvania, US
No, it's either completely on or completely off - no crackling or extraneous noises. When both channels are working, one is slightly less strong that the other. Although when both channels are working one is slightly less powerful than the other; but just by a hair.

Now that I'm thinking about it again after 10 years, I'm going to look-up a repair contact and either fix the thing or put it out of it's misery.

Top
#318279 - 08/11/10 09:15 AM Re: Amp repair [Re: Cork]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4116
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
The problem can be a number of things. Sometimes it can as simple as cleaning the unit. Relay's and potentiometers are common issues with older gear. Could be be a bad solder, a cap etc.

If you decide to get it serviced, let us know what was wrong with it. If not, there is great interest/demand by many audio enthusiasts for vintage electronics. I'm sure you can find someone to buy it off of you cheap and they will fix it up.
_________________________
Iím armed and Iím drinking. You donít want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,255 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,041 Topics
424,566 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13572
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
169 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup