You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Denon 4308ci Video Issue

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#320506 - 08/29/10 09:53 AM Denon 4308ci Video Issue
Diamondog Offline
veteran

Registered: 12/22/09
Posts: 105
I was doing something with the denon remote and selected "something" that I didn't mean too, then the display on the receiver went off...I figured out that I had turned on Pure Direct which causes the display to go blank....anyways I have turned it off I believe as my display is fine now but I have done something else now and cannot get video for my TV, it is running through an HDMI cable, I have the TV's audio but no video and cannot for the life of me get it back, not sure how to correct? Everything I select seems to be the way it should be...HELP frown


Edited by Diamondog (08/29/10 09:53 AM)
_________________________
Sharp Aquos LC60LE650U/Onkyo TX-NR5010/Axiom M100/Axiom VP150 v2/Axiom EP500 v2/Axiom QS8 v3

Top
#320508 - 08/29/10 10:11 AM Re: Denon 4308ci Video Issue [Re: Diamondog]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Check the manual for a system reset to default values.

Top
#320509 - 08/29/10 10:45 AM Re: Denon 4308ci Video Issue [Re: CatBrat]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Try the power off then on button (not just standby). Are u sure u are controlling zone 1? Maybe u turned pure direct on at zone 1 then changed to zone two so are unable to turn it back off until u go back to zone 1 on the remote?

Check that all cables are tight and that your receiver and tv are both on the proper source.

Go into the source select menu on the denon an make sure everything looks ok there for the source u are using.




Edited by terzaghi (08/29/10 10:49 AM)
_________________________
-David

Top
#320512 - 08/29/10 12:11 PM Re: Denon 4308ci Video Issue [Re: terzaghi]
Diamondog Offline
veteran

Registered: 12/22/09
Posts: 105
I am definately in Zone 1, all cables are secure and everything looks ok....its got to be some video setting on the receiver because the audio is fine...grrr
_________________________
Sharp Aquos LC60LE650U/Onkyo TX-NR5010/Axiom M100/Axiom VP150 v2/Axiom EP500 v2/Axiom QS8 v3

Top
#320513 - 08/29/10 12:50 PM Re: Denon 4308ci Video Issue [Re: Diamondog]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Were u in a specific menu when things went black?

as mentioned by catbrat There is a factory reset command that will put it back to its out of the box settings except it won't reset any firmware upgrades. U will have to reset it up from scratch tho (source input names and input audio settings, channel levels, distance, eq, etc. U might wait until Monday and call denon support.

What is your video input source (dvr/DVD/etc.) and how is it connected (hdmi?). How is it connected to your display (hdmi?).
U r positive your tv is on the correct source?
_________________________
-David

Top
#320514 - 08/29/10 01:00 PM Re: Denon 4308ci Video Issue [Re: Diamondog]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Were u in a specific menu when things went black?

as mentioned by catbrat There is a factory reset command that will put it back to its out of the box settings except it won't reset any firmware upgrades. U will have to reset it up from scratch tho (source input names and input audio settings, channel levels, distance, eq, etc. U might wait until Monday and call denon support.

What is your video input source (dvr/DVD/etc.) and how is it connected (hdmi?). How is it connected to your display (hdmi?).
U r positive your tv is on the correct source?
_________________________
-David

Top
#320515 - 08/29/10 02:12 PM Re: Denon 4308ci Video Issue [Re: terzaghi]
1sweetspot Offline
veteran

Registered: 04/19/10
Posts: 175
Loc: Edmonton, Alberta
I would suggest trying to bypass the receiver (connect directly to the TV) just to try to narrow the source of the problem down before resetting to defaults as reprogramming all your settings can take some time and it may be unnecessary.

I agree with terzaghi and would double check the settings in your TV too. Check that your cable box or satellite receiver is set to display video via HDMI too...

Top
#320516 - 08/29/10 02:39 PM Re: Denon 4308ci Video Issue [Re: 1sweetspot]
Scamp Offline
old hand

Registered: 07/22/10
Posts: 84
Loc: Bethesda, MD
I had a similar issue with my new 4311ci. It turned out I had inadvertently switched output to HDMI-2. You might want to check that.
_________________________
M22's x 3, QS8's x 4
SVS PC12-Plus, Denon 3311ci
Ear-to-ear grin? Priceless!

Top
#320555 - 08/29/10 09:15 PM Re: Denon 4308ci Video Issue [Re: Scamp]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
as mentioned previously I would definitely go into the source options for the source you are using and make sure that all of the input and output numbers/names are correct
_________________________
-David

Top
#320849 - 08/31/10 08:29 PM Re: Denon 4308ci Video Issue [Re: terzaghi]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
did you get this issue resolved?
_________________________
-David

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,623 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
201 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup