Print Thread
Rate Thread
M3 versus Polk RTIA1?
#325864 10/17/10 09:59 PM
R
rnuge Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Hi Axiom Enthusiasts! I'm a newbie on a modest budget assembling a 3.1 system (I may add surrounds eventually but not now). This is for a small living room (15x15x9) with some logistical/placement hurdles; thus going with bookshelves as fronts. System will be used 50/50 for music/ht, but I am more concerned with sound quality for music than ht.

My budget has climbed as I have learned more (shocking, I know) and I'm now needing to stand firm at ~$1200 max. I pulled the trigger on a Pioneer VSX-1020-K for $370 on Amazon. This leaves around $800 or so for LCR and sub. Tactically - since I am more concerned with music, I'm anticipating that it may be worth delaying the center channel purchase if it means better sub and fronts at the outset.

So as you experienced hands know and I have now learned - boy are there are a lot of bookshelf speakers out there in the $300-$400 range! My short list based on reading only was:

Def Tech Promonitor 800 (or 1000's if a good open box deal could be had)
Polk Audio RTIA1
Axiom M3
Aperion Intimus 4B
Boston CS26 (mostly becuase I loved my old A150's)

I listened to the Def Techs with some of my own CD's. I liked them but can't see using even the 1000s w/o a sub for music or ht. Heard them with and without a Def Tech Pro Sub 800 and with the sub they were sweet. Without they left me wanting, especially the 800s... Using the 1000s in 3.1 for spider man demo (with a procenter 1000) was impressive though I thought a bit shrill. Maybe it was the material.

I also listended to the RTIA1's on their own and they were nice; I think I may go for another listen. Did not get a listen to these in combination with center or sub but on their own they were certainly more range-y than the def tech 1000s were. Also not harsh or overly bright to my ear as some say of Polks. It was a tough bigbox environment though - still some uncertainty there.