You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » I've got myself a new house with ready HT room

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#327758 - 11/07/10 07:44 PM I've got myself a new house with ready HT room
mpyw Offline
local

Registered: 07/24/09
Posts: 288
Loc: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
so...what should be my next step....I should be moving in after all the documentations and loan arrangement being sorted out in 2-3 months time....

These are the equipment I have now:-

TV: Pioneer KURO 50"
AVR : Onkyo TX-SR808
BDP : Oppo BDP-80 / Dune Prime 1.0
Gaming : PS3
Speakers : Axiom M60v2, VP150v2, Orb Audio Mod 1 (surround)
Sub : SVS PC-12+

The HT equipment the previous owner left behind :-

Projector : look like a Marantz but I will double confirm on Wednesday when I go to do a stock take

AVR : should be Marantz SR7002 or 8002
CD/DVD player : Another Marantz models
Karaoke machine : BMB

I saw a huge CPU at the entertainment hall and I think that guy using Kaleidascope

and in the picture it still have some unknow surround speakers hanging there

some photos:-







what do you guys think?

Top
#327759 - 11/07/10 08:12 PM Re: I've got myself a new house with ready HT room [Re: mpyw]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Sweet! With a little dusting that place will be good as new!
_________________________
-David

Top
#327760 - 11/07/10 08:15 PM Re: I've got myself a new house with ready HT room [Re: terzaghi]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4870
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
I personally would check out how any of the left behind equipment works, check model number and pull owners manual and spec from the web if you don't have hard copies. I would decide if I want to keep all of what was left, replace some, etc.

Definitely would recommend you using your vp150 with you axiom fronts instead of the center speaker left behind to ensure an even match across the front.
_________________________
-David

Top
#327769 - 11/07/10 11:16 PM Re: I've got myself a new house with ready HT room [Re: terzaghi]
bdpf Offline
aficionado

Registered: 06/28/08
Posts: 769
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Lucky you, the hard work is already done! Congrats smile
_________________________
Bruno
M80s/VP180/QS8s/EP600/AVR-890
------------------------------------
"The problem is choice..."

Top
#327791 - 11/08/10 12:22 PM Re: I've got myself a new house with ready HT room [Re: terzaghi]
Capn_Pickard Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/09/04
Posts: 1056
Loc: Arlington, VA (NOVA)
Originally Posted By: terzaghi
Sweet! With a little dusting that place will be good as new!



Ha! That was my first thought, too.

Looks like a sweet set-up. Most of us would die to have that as a jumping off point. Unfortunately, for the home theater tinkerer in you, there's probably not much to do, except sit back and enjoy.

Tell me, though, if you get a chance - what is the piece of HT furniture in the room? I've been looking for a dual love-seat configuration with all four seats reclining and an arm rest in between.

Top
#327797 - 11/08/10 02:56 PM Re: I've got myself a new house with ready HT room [Re: Capn_Pickard]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Looks very nice, you guys with dedicated HT's make me jealous.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#327822 - 11/08/10 09:18 PM Re: I've got myself a new house with ready HT room [Re: jakewash]
mpyw Offline
local

Registered: 07/24/09
Posts: 288
Loc: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
sigh...look like the projector is a Sharp XV-Z10000U 720p unit and without HDMI input...

This definitely have to go and replace by a 1080p unit, is Epson 8350 good?

Top
#327845 - 11/09/10 10:32 AM Re: I've got myself a new house with ready HT room [Re: mpyw]
Capn_Pickard Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/09/04
Posts: 1056
Loc: Arlington, VA (NOVA)
Before you leap in and buy a 1080p projector, just consider using it for a while and see whether you like the quality.

I have a 720p projector on a 100" screen, and the picture is so clear, I cannot resolve any pixel structure form my seat, about 12 feet away, I have to get up very close to see any pixels.

Also, while HDMI connections are convenient, the Component connections should deliver the same high quality, high definition picture, at least in 720p. I don't know what you will have to do to run HDMI cable in that space, but if it requires a lot of work, you just might consider holding off on that purchase for a while.

What is the size of the screen, and how far away from it is the couch? (Oh yeah, what kind of couch is it? Did you ever find out?) How are the connections currently run?

Top
#327848 - 11/09/10 10:50 AM Re: I've got myself a new house with ready HT room [Re: mpyw]
Capn_Pickard Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/09/04
Posts: 1056
Loc: Arlington, VA (NOVA)
double post...


Edited by Capn_Pickard (11/09/10 10:50 AM)

Top
#327849 - 11/09/10 10:50 AM Re: I've got myself a new house with ready HT room [Re: Capn_Pickard]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Here's a chart that contains "Viewing distance when resolution becomes important" on AVSFORUM.com.

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,271 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,079 Topics
425,173 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13579
CV 11702
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
181 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup