Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 4 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Re: Another naive computer question....
MarkSJohnson #329193 11/21/10 10:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 578
G
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
G
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 578
Originally Posted By: MarkSJohnson
Word, is it likely that two drives would both be bad in the same, identical way?


Nope different lots, (but "luck of the draw").

I'd concur, bios, drivers, pesky NVidia controllers, or you need to do the jumper trick.

Try a search for "WD or Western Digital Advanced Fromat jumper". That might do it. Can't remember the jumper pins, think it was 7 and 8)

Last edited by wordgasm; 11/21/10 10:05 PM.

Fronts/Wides:M22s in/on
Center:VP150/VP100 in/on
Hghts,SS,SR:QS8s
Sub:EP500
AVR:Onkyo 3008
Re: Another naive computer question....
Glitchy #329195 11/21/10 10:07 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
T
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
T
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
I love this group. You guys are great.


bibere usque ad hilaritatem
Re: Another naive computer question....
Glitchy #329200 11/21/10 10:35 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 578
G
aficionado
Offline
aficionado
G
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 578
deleted

Last edited by wordgasm; 11/21/10 10:38 PM.

Fronts/Wides:M22s in/on
Center:VP150/VP100 in/on
Hghts,SS,SR:QS8s
Sub:EP500
AVR:Onkyo 3008
Re: Another naive computer question....
Glitchy #329223 11/22/10 01:43 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
shareholder in the making
OP Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
Tom's right.... you guys ARE great.

But this effen computer is going to be thrown out the window shortly, and I'm going to carry it to the third floor attic first.

I thought this sh*t was going to be simple.....


::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::
Re: Another naive computer question....
MarkSJohnson #329228 11/22/10 02:25 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,569
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,569
Try this link Mark:

http://social.answers.microsoft.com/Foru...37-ee7f3af2dfbd

In the second post it say:

Quote:

I just solved this problem for my HP Blackbird PC, and am now able to easily partition and format a new Seagate 2TB internal hard drive from 32-bit Vista that runs on this PC. 

The solution was to upgrade my Nvidia 680i chipset drivers, available in an update package from Nvidia, not through Microsoft's normal driver and OS updating pages as far as I know.  See the above URL for more details.


Could be the same issue you are having. When you looked for driver updates did you go to the manufactures website? If not I would start there.

There is also a link to a work around in the link above.


3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1
Re: Another naive computer question....
grunt #329286 11/22/10 05:59 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
shareholder in the making
OP Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
Grunt, that did it!

Basically, it came down to needing to upgrade the NVidia drivers for the SATA controller, but doing it the normal way was useless as it kept telling me that the drivers WERE up to date.

Going directly to NVidia's site and downloading an "update package" took care of it, and a drive just formatted to 100%! I'm going to do a "check disk" on it just to be sure, then do the same process for the second, replacement disk (I'll just keep it, as WD charged $30 less than the good price I paid for the first one!).

So, thanks to everyone... many of you were right about the SATA controller needing updating. Special thanks to Grunt for pointing out that I can't do that update in the normal way.

Tom was right, you guys ARE awesome!


::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::
Re: Another naive computer question....
MarkSJohnson #329287 11/22/10 06:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,569
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,569
I’ve usually have better luck using the manufactures firmware updated downloaded and applied directly. Only on one occasion has using Windows Update/or the driver update feature worked for me when the manufactures didn’t in getting 5.1 to work directly off the motherboard.



3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1
Re: Another naive computer question....
grunt #329321 11/22/10 08:20 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
T
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
T
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
Wasn't Ken giving the NVidia drivers the stink-eye early on?

A bunch of charismatic savants, you are.


bibere usque ad hilaritatem
Re: Another naive computer question....
tomtuttle #329322 11/22/10 08:21 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
shareholder in the making
OP Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
Yes. It was dagger-related. smile


::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::
Re: Another naive computer question....
MarkSJohnson #350093 06/13/11 11:50 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
shareholder in the making
OP Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
I'm maintaining this as my own computer tech support thread. Popes and walls and beer aren't the main topics here, though derailing is, of course, expected. Well, beer is on topic as always, I guess. smile

OK, so I ordered a Dell Studio XPS 9100 last week, and I got it with 8GB of RAM (the minimum) with the intentions of ordering more on my own. I'd like to think that landing around 12~16GB would be ideal.



The XPS 9100 is listed as tri-channel memory on all BUT the 8GB configuration, where, as it shows in the screenshot above, it's listed as dual channel. I liked the idea of ordering it with 8GB because:
A- I'm not paying Dell's high prices
B- It shows that I'll have two free slots (the 9100 model has 6 DIMM slots) in a dual-channel mode allowing for me to add 2X 4GB sticks to the 4X 2GB already in place without me having to throw anything out.

Now I'm wondering if this thinking is faulty?

I'm wondering it the tri-channel mode is something that's inherent in the motherboard or something, and this particular configuration is ONLY dual channel because they happen to be giving me 4 sticks. Despite what the screenshot above says, is this system inherently tri-channel?

So the question is: Do I add 2X 4GB sticks to what's there, or do I just scrap it all and buy two kits from Crucial...a 12GB and a 6GB?

The system will have an ATI Radeon HD5670 1GB video card, so I don't think I'll need to lean into RAM for video performance (Photoshop and Lightroom work, no gaming).

I can download the auto-configuration tool at Crucial after
I receive and install the Dell, but I'd kinda like to order this Memory and a USB 3.0 card before the Dell gets here so I can install them before moving the computer into it's new home.

Any advice at all would be appreciated.

Last edited by MarkSJohnson; 06/13/11 12:00 PM.

::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::
Page 4 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,396
Posts432,279
Members15,418
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,815
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 216 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4