Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
QSC amp on axiom m80 and v180?
#329094 11/20/10 11:10 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
D
newbie
OP Offline
newbie
D
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
I have herd thatyou can hook up some Pro audio (DJ) amps like crown and QSC and others on m80 abd vp180 . I have 3 qsc monoblocks and im not using them. I belive they are rated at 600 watt rms, Im planning to get a Yamaha aventage rx-a3000. How would I hook m80s and vp180 to my QSC amps and then hook them to my yamaha! need help!

Last edited by deathinc; 11/20/10 11:11 PM.
Re: QSC amp on axiom m80 and v180?
deathinc #329096 11/21/10 01:04 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,466
What's the exact model of the QSC amp? It may have balanced XLR inputs only. In that case you'd need a single-end to balanced (RCA to XLR) converter. This should be an active device that requires power.


Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris
Re: QSC amp on axiom m80 and v180?
ClubNeon #329126 11/21/10 06:06 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
J
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
J
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
Simply put you use the pre-amp outs(LCR would be most commonly used for the 3) on the Yamaha hooked up to the inputs on the Qsc's using what ever cabling is required, as Chris mentioned there are some differences here. It is that simple or difficult depending on the amp inputs.


Jason
M80 v2
VP160 v3
QS8 v2
PB13 Ultra
Denon 3808
Samsung 85" Q70
Re: QSC amp on axiom m80 and v180?
jakewash #329147 11/21/10 03:59 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,928
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,928
Zimm used a GX5 successfully on his HT.


Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.
Re: QSC amp on axiom m80 and v180?
Adrian #329158 11/21/10 05:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
J
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
J
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
THAT'S who it is! I have been struggling to remember who has one. Thanks Adrian


Jason
M80 v2
VP160 v3
QS8 v2
PB13 Ultra
Denon 3808
Samsung 85" Q70
Re: QSC amp on axiom m80 and v180?
jakewash #329245 11/22/10 03:54 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,928
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,928
A couple of guys have used Behringer Pro amps as well, it'd be nice to see some write-ups on them here.


Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.
Re: QSC amp on axiom m80 and v180?
Adrian #329362 11/23/10 02:45 AM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 233
local
Offline
local
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 233
I have a Behringer EPQ-1200. I gave it a brief spin and it seems to work great. However it has a noisy fan so I need to mount it on the other side of the wall in the next room, which means I have to run cabling through the wall, which is a lot of work that I have not yet found time for, so the write-up is going to have to wait.


Axiom M80s + QS8s + VP180 <-- Pioneer VSX-1120-K <-- Squeezebox Touch / XBox360 / Oppo BDP-93
Re: QSC amp on axiom m80 and v180?
Henry66 #329384 11/23/10 11:36 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
So you're saying that your family and work and stuff takes precedence over us?

::walking away deeply hurt::


::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::
Re: QSC amp on axiom m80 and v180?
MarkSJohnson #329463 11/24/10 01:35 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 31
enthusiast
Offline
enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 31
I'm using a QSC GX5 to power a pair of M80s.
As others have suggested I had to swap out the fan for a quieter model as it was quite noisy when running.
I specifically chose this model as it had RCA inputs and worked off consumer line levels.
Some of the pro amplifiers use a different level and you need to use something like the Samson S-Convert to fix that up.
The other downside of course is that it has no remote or 12V trigger so I have to switch it ON/OFF by hand.


Axiom M80's
Axiom VP180
Yamaha NS-333's
Emotiva XPA-3
Yamaha RX-A1010
Panasonic TH-P60ST30A
Re: QSC amp on axiom m80 and v180?
chunkYE #329465 11/24/10 02:25 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,928
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,928
I'm surprised these proamp makers haven't caught on to the HT/home stereo group and come up with quieter units. There's plenty of extra business out there waiting for them.


Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,398
Posts432,339
Members15,419
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,815
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
1 members (nagarajbr), 253 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4