You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » Audiobytes Stopped Working

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#334421 - 01/14/11 02:16 AM Audiobytes Stopped Working
m_underwood Offline
old hand

Registered: 11/28/03
Posts: 81
Loc: Richmond, BC, Canada
My two and a bit year old Audiobytes have stopped outputting any sound. They have cut out a handful of times before in the past year, previously resolved by simply power cycling the amplifier module. The amplifier itself produces a quiet buzzing noise as soon at it's turned on. I've tried disconnecting the EPZero, switching cables, different sources, but nothing seems to help. Is there anything I'm missing or am I stuck?

Top
#334424 - 01/14/11 05:19 AM Re: Audiobytes Stopped Working [Re: m_underwood]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
You should be covered under warranty so I would give Axiom a call.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#334442 - 01/14/11 10:22 AM Re: Audiobytes Stopped Working [Re: jakewash]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16437
Loc: Ben Lomond, California
Ditto this. Call Axiom. Sounds like your amp is kaput.
_________________________
I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.

Top
#334446 - 01/14/11 10:33 AM Re: Audiobytes Stopped Working [Re: pmbuko]
alan Offline

connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3259
Loc: Toronto/New York/parry Sound
Hi 1madman,

Sorry you're having trouble with the Audiobytes and I agree you should call the toll-free Axiom line. As others have noted, I think you may have an amp problem. However, as a final check, in my experience all mini-jack connections (not just the ones used on the AudioBytes) have a tendency to become intermittent at times as the internal spring/pressure mechanism loses tension and/or oxidizes over time. Try cleaning the plugs/jacks and rotating them back and forth in the jacks to see if that helps things.

Regards,
Alan
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)

Top
#334504 - 01/15/11 01:03 AM Re: Audiobytes Stopped Working [Re: alan]
m_underwood Offline
old hand

Registered: 11/28/03
Posts: 81
Loc: Richmond, BC, Canada
It's definitely not the mini-jack connections. I actually had that issue quite some time ago and had to replace the original input cable.

I'll try giving Axiom a call on Monday.

Top
#339142 - 02/18/11 10:11 PM Re: Audiobytes Stopped Working [Re: m_underwood]
m_underwood Offline
old hand

Registered: 11/28/03
Posts: 81
Loc: Richmond, BC, Canada
Just picked up the repaired amplifier, seems to be working great now. One odd observation, there is significantly more output to the EPZero now. Very low output from the EPZero is actually something I complained about on day one. Maybe there was something wrong with the amp from the get-go?

Top
#339143 - 02/18/11 10:15 PM Re: Audiobytes Stopped Working [Re: m_underwood]
Adrian Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/27/08
Posts: 6878
Loc: It's all about the location.
It sounds like there may well have been something wrong from the start, hope it's ok now.
_________________________
Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,232 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,007 Topics
424,185 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
180 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup