You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » The Water Cooler » Comm Port 4 is giving me fits, what is it?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#336277 - 01/29/11 07:27 PM Comm Port 4 is giving me fits, what is it?
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4195
Loc: Up yonder
This may be a coincidence, but yesterday, comm port 4 had an error. Says it isn't configured correctly.

At the same time, both of my HP external drives stopped working. I can plug them into my laptop and they both work fine. One is a 500 gig pocket media drive and other is a 500 gig HP personal media drive.

Suggestions??
_________________________


Top
#336280 - 01/29/11 07:42 PM Re: Comm Port 4 is giving me fits, what is it? [Re: michael_d]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4195
Loc: Up yonder
The plot thickens... I have two printers that connect via USB. If I disconnect them, both drives work. I can then plug the printers back into the USB ports and everything works, for a while, then the drives start acting up again.
_________________________


Top
#336284 - 01/29/11 07:46 PM Re: Comm Port 4 is giving me fits, what is it? [Re: michael_d]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
How ofter do you plug/unplug these USB devices? Is it possible that a jack/plug/wire got damaged? I've seen damage to USB interfaces cause very strange problems. It could even be the USB interface on a device has gone (perhaps a cap or some other component of the circuit has failed, which can happen with time).

If it isn't that, then it is a driver issue, and those are impossible to troubleshoot.
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#336330 - 01/30/11 12:48 AM Re: Comm Port 4 is giving me fits, what is it? [Re: michael_d]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16437
Loc: Ben Lomond, California
Are you using a USB hub or do you plug all the devices directly into the computer?
_________________________
I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.

Top
#336361 - 01/30/11 12:34 PM Re: Comm Port 4 is giving me fits, what is it? [Re: pmbuko]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4195
Loc: Up yonder
I plug all my USB devices into my computer. It seams to be more related to one printer. If I unplug it, the drives work. Oh, and the pocket media drive has its own connection in the drive bay. No cables for that one. The printer causing these issues is an older HP all-in-one machine. Its software will not load on Vista, so I just use it for a fax and copier. I'd get rid of it, but I just spent $80 on ink cartridges on the damn thing.

This is what I hate about computers. The damn things should be smart enough to just tell you what's wrong.
_________________________


Top
#336363 - 01/30/11 12:47 PM Re: Comm Port 4 is giving me fits, what is it? [Re: michael_d]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
It is. It's telling you Com4 has an error.

<runs away quickly>
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#336368 - 01/30/11 01:45 PM Re: Comm Port 4 is giving me fits, what is it? [Re: Ken.C]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4195
Loc: Up yonder
You better run smartass! smile
_________________________


Top
#336372 - 01/30/11 02:39 PM Re: Comm Port 4 is giving me fits, what is it? [Re: michael_d]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
Originally Posted By: michael_d
Its software will not load on Vista, so I just use it for a fax and copier.

Does it have to be connected to the computer to function as a fax/copier? Especially without the drivers loaded, I'd think not. Give it a shot.
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#336378 - 01/30/11 03:54 PM Re: Comm Port 4 is giving me fits, what is it? [Re: ClubNeon]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4195
Loc: Up yonder
No, it doesn't. I did disconnect it and my drives are working fine. I just don't like knowing something is screwed up. Things never get better on their own and I'm just waiting to see what else goes tits up.
_________________________


Top
#336410 - 01/31/11 10:54 AM Re: Comm Port 4 is giving me fits, what is it? [Re: michael_d]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4195
Loc: Up yonder
Damn thing.... Problem resumed this morning,even with the offending printer disconnected.

Could this be a hardware problem? Maybe the motherboard? It appears to be USB related and that comm path all looks integrated the board.
_________________________


Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,232 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,007 Topics
424,185 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
180 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup