You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Technical Questions » AX500A Sub Amp

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#338476 - 02/14/11 10:06 PM AX500A Sub Amp
TroyD Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/17/04
Posts: 602
Loc: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, CA
I have recently retrieved my older Axiom Sub. AX500A,
I hooked it up and I get a loud intermittant buzz. It is like .5sec buzz .5sec nothing .5 sec buzz .5sec buzz.

I move the volume control and it either goes constant buzzing or dead.
Guessing the amp is toast, but can I still get a replacement it is 165watts or can I put on a Bash 200 watt or just use the sub as door stop ?
_________________________
Anthem AVM30
Anthem MCA50
M22v4
VP160v4
EP350
EP500

Top
#338491 - 02/14/11 11:12 PM Re: AX500A Sub Amp [Re: TroyD]
Adrian Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/27/08
Posts: 6884
Loc: It's all about the location.
I think a call or email to Axiom would be in order. I doubt if they would have an amp for these subs anymore but it's worth contacting them, maybe there's an alternative such as the Bash or Dayton plate amps if the originals are not available.
_________________________
Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.

Top
#338500 - 02/14/11 11:20 PM Re: AX500A Sub Amp [Re: Adrian]
Adrian Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/27/08
Posts: 6884
Loc: It's all about the location.
Solen is another possibility, they have their own plate amps too.
_________________________
Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.

Top
#338538 - 02/15/11 11:56 AM Re: AX500A Sub Amp [Re: Adrian]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4116
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
Sounds like your subwoofer amp is toast, probably a bad capacitor somewhere along the lines. It is quite common for subwoofers to develop buzzing and popping sounds after being left in storage for long periods of time unused. Capacitors don't like that.

It might not be worth fixing at all depending on the costs of the plate amp. The best you can do is go to a place like parts express.com and find a drop in replacement if possible.

_________________________
I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
#339291 - 02/20/11 07:25 PM Re: AX500A Sub Amp [Re: BlueJays1]
meagain Offline
regular

Registered: 02/11/11
Posts: 6
actually I checked all the CAPSat least to see if they have expanded and all have flat tops.

also when I move or puch the volumn button it stops or changes from intermittant to steady, to quiet. I think maybe the control is bad. So going to take the board to a electronics place and see if it, is bad and replace it.

Top
#339327 - 02/21/11 10:20 AM Re: AX500A Sub Amp [Re: meagain]
alan Offline

connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3264
Loc: Toronto/New York/parry Sound
Hi Meagain,

It might be an aged/dirty pot and needs cleaning; you could try a cleaner spray like Caig Labs produce. I've used the latter on a 40-year old Sony portable radio (with an excellent AM/FM tuner section) to keep the volume control quiet and operating. When it oxidizes, the control becomes intermittent and noisy. If I spray it once a year and move the control rapidly back and forth after spraying, it's fine for another year or so.

It also might be a cold solder joint on the back of the control where it connects to a circuit board. If you have a technician check it, he should be able to spot the fault.

Good luck.
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)

Top
#339386 - 02/21/11 07:19 PM Re: AX500A Sub Amp [Re: alan]
meagain Offline
regular

Registered: 02/11/11
Posts: 6
Thanks,
I am going to drop it off at the tech's. First I will try that spray and see if it works.

Top
#339393 - 02/21/11 10:17 PM Re: AX500A Sub Amp [Re: meagain]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10627
Yes, and if you haven't got the spray yet, you can even try running the volume control quickly up and down from min to max(no program playing, of course)20 or more times to see if that alone helps.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#339397 - 02/21/11 10:27 PM Re: AX500A Sub Amp [Re: JohnK]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13571
Loc: Iowa
Yep, that has worked for me on some older 80's and 90's receivers.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#340251 - 02/26/11 07:49 PM Re: AX500A Sub Amp [Re: SirQuack]
meagain Offline
regular

Registered: 02/11/11
Posts: 6
yeh I am sure it's the pot, specially when the dial came out in my fingers control arm and all lol ...
Going to drop it off to the tech, see if he can order another

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,244 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,029 Topics
424,384 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
188 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup