Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
AX500A Sub Amp
#338476 02/15/11 03:06 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 613
TroyD Offline OP
aficionado
OP Offline
aficionado
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 613
I have recently retrieved my older Axiom Sub. AX500A,
I hooked it up and I get a loud intermittant buzz. It is like .5sec buzz .5sec nothing .5 sec buzz .5sec buzz.

I move the volume control and it either goes constant buzzing or dead.
Guessing the amp is toast, but can I still get a replacement it is 165watts or can I put on a Bash 200 watt or just use the sub as door stop ?


Anthem AVM30
Anthem MCA50
M22v4
VP160v4
EP350
EP500
Re: AX500A Sub Amp
TroyD #338491 02/15/11 04:12 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,928
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,928
I think a call or email to Axiom would be in order. I doubt if they would have an amp for these subs anymore but it's worth contacting them, maybe there's an alternative such as the Bash or Dayton plate amps if the originals are not available.


Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.
Re: AX500A Sub Amp
Adrian #338500 02/15/11 04:20 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,928
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,928
Solen is another possibility, they have their own plate amps too.


Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.
Re: AX500A Sub Amp
Adrian #338538 02/15/11 04:56 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,116
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,116
Sounds like your subwoofer amp is toast, probably a bad capacitor somewhere along the lines. It is quite common for subwoofers to develop buzzing and popping sounds after being left in storage for long periods of time unused. Capacitors don't like that.

It might not be worth fixing at all depending on the costs of the plate amp. The best you can do is go to a place like parts express.com and find a drop in replacement if possible.



I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne
Re: AX500A Sub Amp
BlueJays1 #339291 02/21/11 12:25 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
M
regular
Offline
regular
M
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
actually I checked all the CAPSat least to see if they have expanded and all have flat tops.

also when I move or puch the volumn button it stops or changes from intermittant to steady, to quiet. I think maybe the control is bad. So going to take the board to a electronics place and see if it, is bad and replace it.

Re: AX500A Sub Amp
meagain #339327 02/21/11 03:20 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,270
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,270
Hi Meagain,

It might be an aged/dirty pot and needs cleaning; you could try a cleaner spray like Caig Labs produce. I've used the latter on a 40-year old Sony portable radio (with an excellent AM/FM tuner section) to keep the volume control quiet and operating. When it oxidizes, the control becomes intermittent and noisy. If I spray it once a year and move the control rapidly back and forth after spraying, it's fine for another year or so.

It also might be a cold solder joint on the back of the control where it connects to a circuit board. If you have a technician check it, he should be able to spot the fault.

Good luck.


Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)
Re: AX500A Sub Amp
alan #339386 02/22/11 12:19 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
M
regular
Offline
regular
M
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
Thanks,
I am going to drop it off at the tech's. First I will try that spray and see if it works.

Re: AX500A Sub Amp
meagain #339393 02/22/11 03:17 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,654
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 10,654
Yes, and if you haven't got the spray yet, you can even try running the volume control quickly up and down from min to max(no program playing, of course)20 or more times to see if that alone helps.


-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.


Re: AX500A Sub Amp
JohnK #339397 02/22/11 03:27 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,693
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,693
Likes: 1
Yep, that has worked for me on some older 80's and 90's receivers.


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: AX500A Sub Amp
SirQuack #340251 02/27/11 12:49 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
M
regular
Offline
regular
M
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
yeh I am sure it's the pot, specially when the dial came out in my fingers control arm and all lol ...
Going to drop it off to the tech, see if he can order another

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,430
Posts432,962
Members15,428
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,693
CV 11,826
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
1 members (CV), 140 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4