You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Anybody using a BFD?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#339059 - 02/18/11 11:29 AM Anybody using a BFD?
bdpf Offline
aficionado

Registered: 06/28/08
Posts: 769
Loc: Toronto, Canada
I was just checking the web for cheap subwoofer equ and every time the Behringer Feedback Destroyer DSP-1124P comes up. It looks like it can be easily be had for less than $100. Anybody using it? Does it work well?
I don't have a sub yet but will probably have one real soon. I'm also almost sure that I'll need some kind of equ since my room is far from ideal, HW floors, no curtains, not to much furniture, the sub will probably be in a corner facing a leather couch 2/3 ft away.
How complicated is it to use the BFD in general and together with REW? Keep in mind that this would be my first time playing with a sub, REW and a BFD (or other equ device) so not much experience here.
_________________________
Bruno
M80s/VP180/QS8s/EP600/AVR-890
------------------------------------
"The problem is choice..."

Top
#339065 - 02/18/11 12:25 PM Re: Anybody using a BFD? [Re: bdpf]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13579
Loc: Iowa
I"m pretty sure a few of the members on here have experience with the Big F'n Destroyer, I'm sure they will chime in.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#339076 - 02/18/11 01:13 PM Re: Anybody using a BFD? [Re: SirQuack]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8488
Loc: Tacoma
I use it with REW. It helped tame a couple peaks and I'm satisfied with the value/fun factor. I can't offer any real advice, because - for me - it was a "set it up and forget it" type of endeavor. The Home Theater Shack guys do a great job with that setup.

I think you still need a compatible sound card. I also bought the M-Audio USB MIDI dongle to download the settings to the BFD so that I wouldn't have to key them.

Some people have concerns about the BFD because it's not a completely "clean" device (i.e. it is not distortion-free). I don't worry about it, because I subscribe to the theory that distortion below a certain frequency has to be pretty epic to be audible.

Fun toy. I think it helps. I like it. I'd rather have an SMS-1, but this was a much cheaper solution. It can do 2 subs independently, although I have not tried this. Likewise, since you're using the line-outs from the BFD, you don't end up losing any voltage if you decide to use multiple subs (compared to using a Y adapter out of your receiver).
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#339080 - 02/18/11 01:22 PM Re: Anybody using a BFD? [Re: tomtuttle]
bdpf Offline
aficionado

Registered: 06/28/08
Posts: 769
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Originally Posted By: tomtuttle
I also bought the M-Audio USB MIDI dongle to download the settings to the BFD so that I wouldn't have to key them.

Thanks Tom. I don't really understand that part???
_________________________
Bruno
M80s/VP180/QS8s/EP600/AVR-890
------------------------------------
"The problem is choice..."

Top
#339082 - 02/18/11 01:25 PM Re: Anybody using a BFD? [Re: bdpf]
RickF Offline
axiomite

Registered: 02/26/05
Posts: 5210
Loc: Vero Beach, Florida
Leave up to someone like bdpf to inquire about a bfd.

laugh
_________________________
Rick
Our Room

smile

Top
#339085 - 02/18/11 01:30 PM Re: Anybody using a BFD? [Re: RickF]
bdpf Offline
aficionado

Registered: 06/28/08
Posts: 769
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Good one laugh
_________________________
Bruno
M80s/VP180/QS8s/EP600/AVR-890
------------------------------------
"The problem is choice..."

Top
#339097 - 02/18/11 02:00 PM Re: Anybody using a BFD? [Re: bdpf]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8488
Loc: Tacoma
Well, the REW setup on your computer gives you the measurements.

You still have to modify the settings on the BFD for it to do anything helpful.

You CAN go press buttons on the BFD to accomplish this. Or, you can get a MIDI interface to download the settings from your computer to the BFD.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#339106 - 02/18/11 02:22 PM Re: Anybody using a BFD? [Re: tomtuttle]
bdpf Offline
aficionado

Registered: 06/28/08
Posts: 769
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Got it, thanks.
So as I understand it, it would sit in between the AVR and the sub. LFE preout from the AVR to the phono in of the BFD, the phono out from the BFD to RCA line IN of the sub. What about XLR from the BFD to XLR of the sub, any advantage or disadvantage to that?
Then I guess I need run Audyssey just so the distance and ch level are set, then disable Audyssey, equ the sub with REW and then run Audyssey again. Is that correct? When running Audyssey the second time, wouldn't that affect the settings that I come up with REW?
Also, do you equ the bass from the sub only or sub + mains? I know, that's a lot of questions smile
_________________________
Bruno
M80s/VP180/QS8s/EP600/AVR-890
------------------------------------
"The problem is choice..."

Top
#339111 - 02/18/11 02:59 PM Re: Anybody using a BFD? [Re: bdpf]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8488
Loc: Tacoma
You're rapidly approaching the point at which 1) I can't help you and 2) you need to just give it a go. smile

Originally Posted By: bdpf
So as I understand it, it would sit in between the AVR and the sub. LFE preout from the AVR to the phono in of the BFD, the phono out from the BFD to RCA line IN of the sub.


Yes.

Originally Posted By: bdpf
What about XLR from the BFD to XLR of the sub, any advantage or disadvantage to that?


Well, I think the BFD accommodates that. My sub doesn't have XLR input, so the point was moot for me. You need an EE who cares to answer that.

Originally Posted By: bdpf
Then I guess I need run Audyssey just so the distance and ch level are set, then disable Audyssey, equ the sub with REW and then run Audyssey again. Is that correct? When running Audyssey the second time, wouldn't that affect the settings that I come up with REW?


I think you're supposed to do it in the other order. Disable Audyssey, then run the REW/BFD stuff. THEN run Audyssey. Yeah, Audyssey is not going to "leave it alone", but I don't know that the granularity of the Audyssey filters/adjustments is finer than the BFD at those frequencies. You know, the BFD might be redundant to Audyssey. I don't care enough to test it both ways. Sorry.

Originally Posted By: bdpf
do you equ the bass from the sub only or sub + mains?


I ran REW including the mains (M60's in my case) because I like to cross them at 60Hz. YMMV. Gotta try it a few ways.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#339123 - 02/18/11 03:57 PM Re: Anybody using a BFD? [Re: tomtuttle]
bdpf Offline
aficionado

Registered: 06/28/08
Posts: 769
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Thanks again Tom.
_________________________
Bruno
M80s/VP180/QS8s/EP600/AVR-890
------------------------------------
"The problem is choice..."

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,281 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,088 Topics
425,372 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13579
CV 11709
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
215 Guests and
2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup