You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Where do you buy your HT lighting?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#340277 - 02/27/11 12:41 AM Where do you buy your HT lighting?
INANE Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/04/04
Posts: 1693
Loc: Omaha, Nebraska
I'm trying to find some options beyond the standard Lowes/Home Depot/Menards to buy lighting. I'm mostly just looking for something more affordable.

I need to get a bunch of recessed lights. Probably 2 sizes... something small (~2 inches) and something medium sized (~4-5 inches). This will be for my HT room, computer room, bedroom... basically my entire basement project. laugh

While I'm on the subject, does anyone have recommendations on automation for lighting? Something like X10? From what I've been reading I like the prices I see on X10 equipment but I've read some negatives on it when it comes to interference.
_________________________
-Ben
HT v2.0 !
HT v1.0

Top
#340278 - 02/27/11 12:48 AM Re: Where do you buy your HT lighting? [Re: INANE]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
For recessed lighting I don't think there is much cheaper nor anything different than what you find at big box stores.

For remote control lighting I would check into 'Z' wave lighting or Lutron IR products and see if there is anything there you find interesting
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#340287 - 02/27/11 09:18 AM Re: Where do you buy your HT lighting? [Re: jakewash]
RickF Offline
axiomite

Registered: 02/26/05
Posts: 5210
Loc: Vero Beach, Florida
Ben I'll go with Jason, it's going to be difficult to beat the pricing and availability for standard recessed lighting from the local big box stores and the sizes you are seeking are standard sizes that should be readily available in stock.

I went with Lutron remotely controlled dimmers throughout our house and have been happy with them, again, the big box stores carry them and they are readily available. We have 10 5" and 2 2" recessed lights on remote dimmers in our 25'x 14' media room and we really like how they can all or partially be dimmed with a remote control.

One suggestion I'll make is to have your lights grouped on different switches so that you can highlight different parts of the room, for instance I have our 'stage' end of the room (4 5" recessed lights) on it's own switch so that portion of the room can be dimmed or highlighted separate from the rest of the room. I have the 12 room lights on 5 separate switches so that we can vary the lighting in the room.
_________________________
Rick
Our Room

smile

Top
#340289 - 02/27/11 09:32 AM Re: Where do you buy your HT lighting? [Re: RickF]
Argon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/24/04
Posts: 1443
Loc: Oak Ridge, NC
+1 on the Lutrons. Mine are IR - so no interference.
_________________________
"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill

Top
#340290 - 02/27/11 09:36 AM Re: Where do you buy your HT lighting? [Re: Argon]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13565
Loc: Iowa
When I did my basement I just went to menards and purchased the plain metal looking canned units you put in before drywall, that is the cheapest route, then you just get the bulbs later.

For the home theater all the lights are on a lutron switch and it came with remote, the dim up/down slowly. The rest of the canned lights in the basement are just on regular switch.




Edited by sirquack (02/27/11 09:40 AM)
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#340291 - 02/27/11 09:41 AM Re: Where do you buy your HT lighting? [Re: SirQuack]
Argon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/24/04
Posts: 1443
Loc: Oak Ridge, NC
The Lutron can go up or down slowly as Randy depicts. It also has a preferred level button that you can set to your desired level. When you are ready to watch a movie - or whatever - you tap the button and....voila!
_________________________
"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill

Top
#340312 - 02/27/11 03:09 PM Re: Where do you buy your HT lighting? [Re: Argon]
BobKay Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/23/10
Posts: 3596
Loc: Massachusetts Badlands
For sure. There are a bunch of Lutron options for dimmers. Lots of cool ones. And if you order from their site, you can get them in some neat colors that aren't white, ivory or brown.

For 2" halogen, flush-mount 35w, with moveable lens, I've been using only IKEA's "Blixx." They each come with their own l.v. transformer. Easily wired in series. Biggest reason to force them to work in any situation? Three to a box--$19.95. With bulbs!
_________________________
Always call the place you live a house. When you're old, everyone else will call it a home.

Top
#340323 - 02/27/11 04:58 PM Re: Where do you buy your HT lighting? [Re: BobKay]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5316
Loc: Marion, IA
Yeah, I got the cheap "cans" at Menards as well. Something like a box of 6 for $20 on sale. I don't think that they came with the insert or the outer ring, so you could get what you wanted since that is what you see anyway.

Not sure that helps.
_________________________
http://ht.buol.us
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#340361 - 02/28/11 12:44 AM Re: Where do you buy your HT lighting? [Re: nickbuol]
INANE Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/04/04
Posts: 1693
Loc: Omaha, Nebraska
Lots of good ideas. I was figuring that the stores would be about the best option, just wanted to check to make sure. I am familar with Lutron as I used a non remote dimmer for my last home's HT. Those thing's aren't cheap thou. I've seen some cool X10 systems that have IR modules so I could use my Harmony remote to send the signals to the X10 dimmer switches. But also have computer software independantly send signals thru the AC wiring to also control them.

mControl is really nifty since it has plugins for MCE (Media Center) and WHS (Windows Home Server) which are two things I rely on anyway in my home. How crazy I end up going with the automation depends on how much I feel like spending I guess.
_________________________
-Ben
HT v2.0 !
HT v1.0

Top
#340363 - 02/28/11 01:00 AM Re: Where do you buy your HT lighting? [Re: INANE]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Originally Posted By: INANE
How crazy I end up going with the automation depends on how much I feel like spending I guess.
That about sums things up for any hobby smile
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,963 Topics
423,625 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (BBIBH)
208 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup