You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » M60 and crossover

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#342117 - 03/14/11 09:41 PM M60 and crossover
DanielBMe Offline
devotee

Registered: 02/08/07
Posts: 394
Loc: Toronto - ON
Just wanted to know if it was ok to cross my M60's at 60mhz? I normally have it at 80 but was playing around with it at 60 and thought it sounded a bit fuller. Are they safe to cross at 60?

One other question, would my receiver, Yamaha 6080, be capable of handling the M80's?


Edited by DanielBMe (03/14/11 09:42 PM)
_________________________
M22's v3, 2 x EP500v3, VP150v3, QS4's, Denon 3808CI

My Botswana Safari photos
http://smu.gs/R41Byt

Top
#342118 - 03/14/11 09:44 PM Re: M60 and crossover [Re: DanielBMe]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4116
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
60hz is totally ok.
_________________________
I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
#342119 - 03/14/11 09:46 PM Re: M60 and crossover [Re: BlueJays1]
DanielBMe Offline
devotee

Registered: 02/08/07
Posts: 394
Loc: Toronto - ON
Good to know! THanks
_________________________
M22's v3, 2 x EP500v3, VP150v3, QS4's, Denon 3808CI

My Botswana Safari photos
http://smu.gs/R41Byt

Top
#342247 - 03/15/11 11:44 PM Re: M60 and crossover [Re: DanielBMe]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
60hz is just fine, you could even try 50 if the reeiver will let you hit that odd number. I would also try 40 just to see how it sounds, then go with which ever setting you prefer.

The Yamaha(looks like the 861 is the comparative) should handle the M80s, at worst it would go into protect mode and then you would know that you need to add an amp to run them.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#342289 - 03/16/11 09:48 AM Re: M60 and crossover [Re: jakewash]
DanielBMe Offline
devotee

Registered: 02/08/07
Posts: 394
Loc: Toronto - ON
What's odd is when I ran the Yamaha YPAO it set the crossover at 120. After running the YPAO I only kept the distance settings (with a tweek) and nothing else. I tried it a few months with the YPAO settings and now will try a few months without.
_________________________
M22's v3, 2 x EP500v3, VP150v3, QS4's, Denon 3808CI

My Botswana Safari photos
http://smu.gs/R41Byt

Top
#342292 - 03/16/11 09:56 AM Re: M60 and crossover [Re: DanielBMe]
bdpf Offline
aficionado

Registered: 06/28/08
Posts: 769
Loc: Toronto, Canada
That's very odd! Did you do the measurement with all the positions allowed by your system? Check that all the drivers are working.


Edited by bdpf (03/16/11 09:57 AM)
_________________________
Bruno
M80s/VP180/QS8s/EP600/AVR-890
------------------------------------
"The problem is choice..."

Top
#342293 - 03/16/11 10:00 AM Re: M60 and crossover [Re: bdpf]
Adrian Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/27/08
Posts: 6865
Loc: It's all about the location.
Agreed. Make sure all the drivers are working, a bad one can throw off the results considerably.
_________________________
Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.

Top
#342393 - 03/17/11 03:47 PM Re: M60 and crossover [Re: Adrian]
BlueJays1 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 4116
Loc: Porch,enjoying Bombay Sapphire
At volume levels which are safe to your ears, put your ear up to each of the midrange and bass drivers with some music playing that contains some decent midbass and bass. Like the others mentioned it looks like its possible that the bass drivers are not functioning correctly (which could be caused by the crossover, faulty driver or loose wiring/connection).
_________________________
I’m armed and I’m drinking. You don’t want to listen to advice from me, amigo.

-Max Payne

Top
#342419 - 03/17/11 09:19 PM Re: M60 and crossover [Re: DanielBMe]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10621
Dan, since you haven't responded on the point, I'll also suggest along with the others that you check that all the bass drivers are in fact operating. The first thing would be to make sure that the connecting strips on the terminals were tight. Even if they are, if you happen to be connected to the top terminals, you might switch to the bottom ones as a test.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#342421 - 03/17/11 09:45 PM Re: M60 and crossover [Re: JohnK]
DanielBMe Offline
devotee

Registered: 02/08/07
Posts: 394
Loc: Toronto - ON
Hmm so am I just putting my ears to the drivers to ensure I hear sound coming from them? THat's it? I'll check right now. Be right back
_________________________
M22's v3, 2 x EP500v3, VP150v3, QS4's, Denon 3808CI

My Botswana Safari photos
http://smu.gs/R41Byt

Top
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,208 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,964 Topics
423,626 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13565
CV 11675
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (brwsaw)
221 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup