You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » The Water Cooler » Need networking help

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#344543 - 04/07/11 09:40 PM Need networking help
Ajax Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/30/03
Posts: 6331
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
I'm helping a friend set up a wireless home network using a Linksys WRT110 router. The remote wireless computer is a good distance from the router, but not so far as to be unworkable (100 - 150 feet). There are, however, a number of walls to pass through.

Anyway, we are having touble connecting to the network.

My question is, would it be better to upgrade the router to a Wireless N router, or to try a wireless extender somewhere between the present router and the remote computer?
_________________________
Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton

Top
#344545 - 04/07/11 09:57 PM Re: Need networking help [Re: Ajax]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5338
Loc: Marion, IA
Wireless N will still have to go the same distance and through the same walls. 100-150 feet through walls actually IS fairly far for a home level wireless router, mainly because of the walls, so it will be tough.

Now, some Wireless N routers *may* work, but not because they are specifically "N" but because they are newer and may have better signal handling and power capabilities, so don't let that deter an upgrade. wink

Is there any way to relocate the existing router to be more centralized? Or to have it travel through 1 or more less walls? A wireless extender will work, but if we can save him from having to spend the money, I am all for that.
_________________________
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#344546 - 04/07/11 10:08 PM Re: Need networking help [Re: nickbuol]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13579
Loc: Iowa
wow, that is a pretty big house. I can usually maintain a 54mbps connection from 50-60ft from downstairs to upstairs in our ranch home. I can also pick up the neighbors wireless from further away, but it is not consistant.

I assume this is a laptop? Can you temporarily move closer to see if your able to connect? Do you actually "see" the network as an available wireless network, but just can't connect?
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#344547 - 04/07/11 10:11 PM Re: Need networking help [Re: SirQuack]
Ajax Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/30/03
Posts: 6331
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
The remote computer can see the network but not connect. The remote computer is actually a desktop but I'm in the process of moving it into the room with the router to see if we can connect there. I'll report back.
_________________________
Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton

Top
#344549 - 04/07/11 10:23 PM Re: Need networking help [Re: Ajax]
Ajax Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/30/03
Posts: 6331
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
In the room with the router, connection is 100%. At least I know I have both the network and the wireless computer card in the remote computer set up correctly. The issue must be distance and walls.
_________________________
Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton

Top
#344551 - 04/07/11 10:42 PM Re: Need networking help [Re: Ajax]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13579
Loc: Iowa
Way to go Jack! Hope you can come up with a solution that will work...
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#344553 - 04/07/11 10:55 PM Re: Need networking help [Re: SirQuack]
Ajax Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/30/03
Posts: 6331
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
Thanks guys. I appreciate the help. We're going to examine all options and see what we think is the best way to go.
_________________________
Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton

Top
#344558 - 04/07/11 11:00 PM Re: Need networking help [Re: Ajax]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
I'd probably go with an extender of some sort. You may also be able to get gonzo huge antennae for that thing--I know the WRT54Gs had removable/replaceable antennae and you could get long distance ones.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#344560 - 04/07/11 11:03 PM Re: Need networking help [Re: Ken.C]
Ajax Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/30/03
Posts: 6331
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
I'm open to any recommendations of make and model for either extender or router. smile
_________________________
Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton

Top
#344563 - 04/07/11 11:16 PM Re: Need networking help [Re: Ajax]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Does the desktop use a USB dongle or a PCI card for it's wireless. If it is a PCI card you can get stronger antennas for them, at least the older ones I had you could. They made a weak to non existent signal in my house actually work at 54MBPS.

There are also other alternatives to wireless, one such system is powerline ethernet but it would be cheaper to just run a wireless repeater.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,272 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,080 Topics
425,183 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13579
CV 11703
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
209 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup