You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » VP180 with Paradigm Studio 100s v2 L&R?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#345260 - 04/16/11 05:51 PM VP180 with Paradigm Studio 100s v2 L&R?
timjuliani Offline
regular

Registered: 04/16/11
Posts: 5
Hi All,

New to the boards here, but looking at the VP180 and the QS8s. I currently have a Paradigm Studio v2 7.1 system, with the exception of the center, which is the CC-570 v3. Having gotten the new Onkyo 5508 processor (feeding an Emotiva XPA-2 and Outlaw 7200), I am moving up to a 9.1 system, just for the hell of it. I've taken the Studio 20s that were doing surround back duties in 7.1 and turned them into wides, and I've decided on replacing them in the back with QS8s, which I will likely ceiling mount (I have about 8 feet behind our listening position to the back wall, but there are couple of doors there and an uneven wall).

While I have settled on the QS8s, I'm also pondering upgrading my center, and wondering how it would work to add the VP180 into this system. Given what I have read about the Axiom and Paradigm sound being close, and the fact that a new Paradigm center would be several versions newer than my v2s and have a different sound as well, thought I would ask the helpful folks here what they think. (In the end I realize an in-home trial would be the best solution, but curious what you all will have to say).

Thanks!

Top
#345263 - 04/16/11 06:18 PM Re: VP180 with Paradigm Studio 100s v2 L&R? [Re: timjuliani]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4299
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Tim, welcome. I would stick with your current setup and spend money elsewhere if I were you. I would also question there being that much of a difference in sound between the v2's and v3's, but I haven't done a comparison.

Just my 2 cents.
_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#345264 - 04/16/11 06:38 PM Re: VP180 with Paradigm Studio 100s v2 L&R? [Re: Ya_basta]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Cam, he's talking about Paradigm v2s, not Axiom v2s.

Tim, I have no advice for you concerning the center. What about the CC-570 don't you like?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#345267 - 04/16/11 07:10 PM Re: VP180 with Paradigm Studio 100s v2 L&R? [Re: timjuliani]
Ya_basta Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4299
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Originally Posted By: Ken.C
Cam, he's talking about Paradigm v2s, not Axiom v2s.


Yeah, I know Ken, but I still can't imagine there being much difference between the v2's and v3's.I know Paradigm made some drastic design changes, and if that's the case between the two models, then I can see there being a noticeable difference in sound (my v2 Monitor 9's look nothing like the newer models). I'm just going by my past experience with Paradigm. I had the v1's as well as the v2's, and they looked identical, and sounded the same to me, too.


Originally Posted By: timjuliani
I currently have a Paradigm Studio v2 7.1 system, with the exception of the center, which is the CC-570 v3.

_________________________
The only reasonable argument for owning a gun is to protect yourself from the police.

Top
#345269 - 04/16/11 08:12 PM Re: VP180 with Paradigm Studio 100s v2 L&R? [Re: Ya_basta]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Oh fine.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#345271 - 04/16/11 09:20 PM Re: VP180 with Paradigm Studio 100s v2 L&R? [Re: Ken.C]
timjuliani Offline
regular

Registered: 04/16/11
Posts: 5
Hey guys, thanks for the responses. I'm not talking about going from a v2 to a v3 in the Paradigm. Rather, what I meant to convey is that I currently have v2 Paradigms all around (circa 2000), except for the center, which is a CC-570 v3. The center is fine, but it is a (relatively) smaller 4 driver design, and was thinking about moving to a larger center (eg. CC-690) that might better complement the Studio 100s and provide a wider center soundstage.

The Paradigm 690 center is about twice the size of my current center, but is a v6 vs the v2 Studio 100s, thus will have different drivers, crossovers, etc, so was thinking that in terms of integration, it might be just as "foreign" as the VP180, which is about 1/2 the price.

Top
#345273 - 04/16/11 09:23 PM Re: VP180 with Paradigm Studio 100s v2 L&R? [Re: timjuliani]
axiom_man Offline
devotee

Registered: 05/09/06
Posts: 340
Loc: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Cana...
There were significant changes between M80 v2 and v3.
The drivers were redesigned and the crossover point were changed and actualkly in another ost it say they were stripped down and re built. Better, dispertion wider sound stage etc.
_________________________
Pioneer sc-1525
M80 HG Cherry

Top
#345279 - 04/16/11 10:52 PM Re: VP180 with Paradigm Studio 100s v2 L&R? [Re: timjuliani]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10623
Tim, welcome. I don't have those Paradigms, but the numbers and reviews(e.g., in Perfect Vision) indicate that the Studio 100s and CC-570 are very well matched. There wouldn't appear to be justification for the added expense of the VP180 or CC690. There'd be no good reason to expect a wider center sound-stage, as the CC-570 with the tweeter and mid-range arrayed vertically appears to be excellent in that respect.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#345285 - 04/17/11 09:01 AM Re: VP180 with Paradigm Studio 100s v2 L&R? [Re: JohnK]
timjuliani Offline
regular

Registered: 04/16/11
Posts: 5
Thanks folks for helping talk me down off the ledge. Upgraditis is a disease we all suffer from at one time or another, and we must stick together and help watch for the early signs. Kind of like The Abyss.

Top
#345314 - 04/17/11 02:42 PM Re: VP180 with Paradigm Studio 100s v2 L&R? [Re: timjuliani]
wilwom Offline
veteran

Registered: 11/08/04
Posts: 184
Loc: Denton, TX
Originally Posted By: timjuliani
I am moving up to a 9.1 system, just for the hell of it. I've taken the Studio 20s that were doing surround back duties in 7.1 and turned them into wides, and I've decided on replacing them in the back with QS8s, which I will likely ceiling mount (I have about 8 feet behind our listening position to the back wall, but there are couple of doors there and an uneven wall).


Tim, just another suggestion. When you get the QS8s try them first in the side positions with the studio 20s in the back.
Bill

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,233 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,007 Topics
424,186 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (Kevin1)
193 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup