You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » HDMI or component or both? Sending HD to 2 TVs

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#352968 - 08/11/11 10:25 AM HDMI or component or both? Sending HD to 2 TVs
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5338
Loc: Marion, IA
We have a Dish VIP 722K that is going to be feeding the new home theater as well as a TV in the family room in the basement.

This receiver has TV1 with HD output capability, and TV2 with regular TV (coax) output.

The home theater will have a large front projector setup (HD obviously), and the family room will have something around a 55" size HDTV as well.

I have been told that the VIP 722K can output HD content over the HDMI and Component video at the same time with both showing the same TV show or recording so it should work, however since we don't have the basement finished yet, I don't know which wall the TV in the family room will end up on and I would need to run 2 HDMI cables to 2 different locations, one about 10 feet long from the Dish receiver location, and the other about 35 feet from the Dish receiver.

Am I screwing myself in any way by not using HDMI from the Dish 722K in the home theater? My thought is that it is a cleaner install for HDMI to the family room locations as it will sent audio over the cable obviously, and in the home theater I can shoot everything (component and optical audio) through my to be purchased receiver and let it sent everything to the projector and speakers. I hate the idea of an HDMI splitter. I've heard some horror stories about signal issues.


We don't watch much TV in the home theater, but now is the time to wire things up and I've got quick a bit sitting in my Monoprice shopping cart. I'd like to get everything I need now without wasting money.
_________________________
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#352970 - 08/11/11 10:35 AM Re: HDMI or component or both? Sending HD to 2 TVs [Re: nickbuol]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
If you are still in the pre-wiring stage or it's not too much trouble, I would recommend running HDMI to both places, even the one where you will actually use component. Cheaper and easier to future proof it now than later.

On splitters....
I tried a HDMI switcher once. I could never get it to work 100%. Maybe it was just a bad unit (wasn't expensive) but it just seemed like the the combo of extra patch cords, connectors, etc was too much for the finicky HDMI signal.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#352975 - 08/11/11 11:24 AM Re: HDMI or component or both? Sending HD to 2 TVs [Re: nickbuol]
casey01 Offline
aficionado

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 852
Loc: Toronto
In this case when you are doing internal wiring the choice is a dilemma. The problem is today that even with the most current satellite and cable boxes, from my experience, HDMI connections can still be problematic and somewhat unreliable. I also am not sure of the statement that HDMI and component will run the video out of the box at the same time. The fact of the matter is HD from these sources is 1080i anyway so,despite the extra cables required, from the standpoint of video and sound capability component video connections and digital audio will be just as good as HDMI without the hassle and you won't incur the HDCP lock-on delays either especially if you choose to use your AVR as a switching center.

Top
#352979 - 08/11/11 01:07 PM Re: HDMI or component or both? Sending HD to 2 TVs [Re: casey01]
alan Offline

connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3266
Loc: Toronto/New York/parry Sound
Hi, I agree with caseyo1 and you should verify if the Dish box really will run HDMI and component video simultaneously.
The HDTV boxes I've owned (Scientific Atlanta) will not run the two at the same time. It's one or the other.

Regards,
Alan
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)

Top
#352982 - 08/11/11 02:05 PM Re: HDMI or component or both? Sending HD to 2 TVs [Re: alan]
oldskoolboarder Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/25/03
Posts: 2185
Loc: Menlo Park, CA
If you run HDMI w/ the new Sewell HDMI/IR adapter (I finally got mine), then you can also use that HDMI to carry your IR signals w/o having to worry about an RF remote. Just a thought.

Top
#352984 - 08/11/11 02:27 PM Re: HDMI or component or both? Sending HD to 2 TVs [Re: oldskoolboarder]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5338
Loc: Marion, IA
I've verified it that both component and HDMI are active at the same time on this particular Dish receiver, so I should be good with that. I just opted to order HDMI cables for the 2 future family room spots. I still have a set of different cables ordered too for connecting things to the projector (HDMI, component, and SVGA). I will just need to check the specs on what ever receiver I end up buying later to make sure that it does what I need.

As for IR repeater, I think that the Sewell InjectIR will be on my short list to look in to.


Edited by nickbuol (08/11/11 02:31 PM)
_________________________
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#353007 - 08/11/11 09:01 PM Re: HDMI or component or both? Sending HD to 2 TVs [Re: nickbuol]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13579
Loc: Iowa
I think if you want to send two different sources across HDMI, you will need a switch like the popular one on monoprice, many receivers have 2 HDMI out, but it will be the same signal.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800



Top
#353009 - 08/11/11 09:40 PM Re: HDMI or component or both? Sending HD to 2 TVs [Re: SirQuack]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5338
Loc: Marion, IA
Just looking to send the same HD signal to two locations. The family room will have its own Blu-Ray player and maybe small surround setup... Crap, I didn't order cable/faceplates for that...
_________________________
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#353027 - 08/12/11 12:13 AM Re: HDMI or component or both? Sending HD to 2 TVs [Re: nickbuol]
INANE Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/04/04
Posts: 1695
Loc: Omaha, Nebraska
I've already placed 3 orders to Monoprice during my project and I know for sure I'll need to make a fourth.
_________________________
-Ben
HT v2.0 !
HT v1.0

Top
#353029 - 08/12/11 12:17 AM Re: HDMI or component or both? Sending HD to 2 TVs [Re: INANE]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5338
Loc: Marion, IA
I hear ya.
_________________________
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,270 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,072 Topics
425,095 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13579
CV 11694
MarkSJohnson 11444
2 registered (brwsaw, Mojo)
198 Guests and
2 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup