You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Mixing v2 and v3 Axioms?

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#355639 - 09/27/11 05:31 PM Mixing v2 and v3 Axioms?
bray Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/10/04
Posts: 1805
Loc: Colorado
I was considering the purchase of a vp150 v3 (upgrade from vp100 v2) and 2 more qs8s v3.
Will these still "mix" well with my v2 system (m60s and qs8s)??
_________________________
LIFE IS SHORT.
DON'T BE A DICK.

Top
#355641 - 09/27/11 05:53 PM Re: Mixing v2 and v3 Axioms? [Re: bray]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
I wouldn't stress on it.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#355649 - 09/27/11 08:02 PM Re: Mixing v2 and v3 Axioms? [Re: Ken.C]
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 11437
Loc: Central NH
Two nuts for the blind squirrel!
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#355652 - 09/27/11 09:14 PM Re: Mixing v2 and v3 Axioms? [Re: bray]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10623
Brady, the small difference in the tweeters shouldn't have a very significant effect with wide dispersion QS surround sound, so there shouldn't be any hesitation there.

As to VP100 to VP150, I'd suggest that you consider a vertical M2 or M22 instead. First, for a free "upgrade" to the VP100, turn it up to a vertical position if your setup would permit.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#355657 - 09/27/11 10:19 PM Re: Mixing v2 and v3 Axioms? [Re: JohnK]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
I've had both VP100 and VP150. I prefer the VP150 because it has a tad more bass extension. Very helpful for male vocals.

Top
#355660 - 09/28/11 12:05 AM Re: Mixing v2 and v3 Axioms? [Re: CatBrat]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1863
i upgraded my VP-150 to a VP-180... i have M60 ti's that are about 6ish years old. The 180 is a wonderful addition to my system. The 3 speakers match very well. I would not worry about it very much.

Top
#355661 - 09/28/11 12:06 AM Re: Mixing v2 and v3 Axioms? [Re: CatBrat]
nickbuol Offline
axiomite

Registered: 09/16/04
Posts: 5324
Loc: Marion, IA
I just went from a VP150 (v2) to VP180 (v3 so to speak, since it really is v1 of that model... hehe...) and added a second pair of QS8s (v3) to my existing QS8s (v2)...

I look at it this way:
1) What are your options? They don't make v2 stuff anymore...
2) The changes have been noted to be minimal fine tuning. It isn't like the v2 versions were bad or anything.

John is peddling the vertical center ( laugh ), but it does have merit if you wanted to give it a shot.
_________________________
http://ht.buol.us
2-M60s, VP180, 8-M3s, SVS 20-39PCi, DIY Sub, 8-Shakers, JVC RS45, Anthem MRX-1120

Top
#355689 - 09/28/11 11:49 AM Re: Mixing v2 and v3 Axioms? [Re: nickbuol]
bray Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/10/04
Posts: 1805
Loc: Colorado
That's kinda what I was thinking guys....tyvm.
Gonna try a M2 1st and see if i like the difference.
_________________________
LIFE IS SHORT.
DON'T BE A DICK.

Top
#355716 - 09/28/11 04:47 PM Re: Mixing v2 and v3 Axioms? [Re: bray]
Nick B Offline
aficionado

Registered: 08/05/06
Posts: 504
Bray,

If you can hold off at all, I would for a little while. If the VP160 goes into production then this may be the best option of all suggested. It has the same number of drivers as you m60's, but has the tweeter over the midrange for better off axis sound quality.

http://www.axiomaudio.com/boards/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=355530&nt=3&page=1

This speaker has me excited. I really hope it goes into production. I was debating replacing my vp150 with the vp180 when it first came out. I may go with the vp160 if it comes into production instead.

Top
#355741 - 09/28/11 08:00 PM Re: Mixing v2 and v3 Axioms? [Re: bray]
fredk Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 7786
Loc: Canada
Originally Posted By: bray
That's kinda what I was thinking guys....tyvm.
Gonna try a M2 1st and see if i like the difference.

I use dual M2s (above and below the display) and it works very well.
_________________________
Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,232 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,007 Topics
424,185 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
196 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup