Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Adding new QS4 v3 to old QS4 + 7.1 channel?
#360439 12/08/11 05:17 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 203
local
OP Offline
local
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 203
Hi,
I have 5.1 system and finally, i have whole room now. I plan to add a pair of QS4 v3 speaker to complete 7.1 I have 2 questions:
1> Does new QS4 new version work well with original QS4 in term of sound?

2> Do i need movies encoded 7.1 in order to take advantage of 7.1 setup? or is it the waste?

thanks.

Re: Adding new QS4 v3 to old QS4 + 7.1 channel?
audiofan #360449 12/08/11 07:20 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,829
Likes: 1
C
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
C
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,829
Likes: 1
The sound difference shouldn't be enough to notice. I run v3s with v2s and nothing sounds off. I did make the v3s my side surrounds and moved the v2s to the rear, since I figured the side surrounds would be fed more information.

The movies don't need to be encoded in 7.1 as long as your receiver can matrix to the extra surround channels with Dolby PLIIx/z or the like.

Re: Adding new QS4 v3 to old QS4 + 7.1 channel?
CV #360450 12/08/11 07:26 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,015
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,015
Any particular reason not to use QS8's instead? Generally the bigger the box/speakers, the better the sound.

Re: Adding new QS4 v3 to old QS4 + 7.1 channel?
CatBrat #360455 12/08/11 07:33 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,829
Likes: 1
C
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
C
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,829
Likes: 1
Oh, yeah, I should have said that my v3s and v2s are QS8s, not QS4s, so I can't comment specifically on that model. I just doubt the difference in sound would matter on any of the individual Axiom models. I agree with CatBrat that you might consider QS8s to use as your side surrounds and move the QS4s to the rear.

Re: Adding new QS4 v3 to old QS4 + 7.1 channel?
CV #360462 12/08/11 08:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,696
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,696
Likes: 1
Yeah, I say get the Qs8's for the sides, and move your existing 4's to the rear.


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: Adding new QS4 v3 to old QS4 + 7.1 channel?
SirQuack #360482 12/09/11 01:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
J
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
J
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
One more vote for Qs8s for the sides and 4's for the rear channel. There is usually less information sent to the rear channels than the side channels.


Jason
M80 v2
VP160 v3
QS8 v2
PB13 Ultra
Denon 3808
Samsung 85" Q70
Re: Adding new QS4 v3 to old QS4 + 7.1 channel?
SirQuack #360488 12/09/11 02:53 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,451
Originally Posted By: SirQuack
move your existing 4's to the rear.

I know the fours are smaller than the eights, but still:

OW OW OW OW OW!


::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,437
Posts433,086
Members15,428
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,696
CV 11,829
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 230 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4