Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Hard drive cloning
#361712 12/23/11 05:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,815
Likes: 1
C
CV Offline OP
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
OP Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
C
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,815
Likes: 1
What software would you recommend for cloning one hard drive directly to another? I'm replacing the 1 TB drives in my system with 2 TB drives. One contains my media and documents while the other contains my games. I had the free edition of Macrium Reflect already on my computer from before, but it seems like I can only clone to an image, then restore the image, as opposed to cloning directly from disk-to-disk. I'm open to suggestions!

Re: Hard drive cloning
CV #361716 12/23/11 05:26 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
I've used Acronis True Image once. It functioned.


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: Hard drive cloning
Ken.C #361718 12/23/11 05:37 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,291
J
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
J
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,291
you can get Acronis true image free on the Western Digital site; check first if it can do what you want, as i think it's not the full version.

Re: Hard drive cloning
J. B. #361727 12/23/11 06:35 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,015
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,015
I've never heard of hard drive cloning, outside of a Raid 1, which I currently use with two 1 TB drives. It was available on the motherboard I installed and has worked flawlessly for the past 3 years.

Re: Hard drive cloning
CatBrat #361761 12/24/11 07:00 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
J
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
J
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
I've been used Acronis for a year and it has worked for me every time use it.


Jason
M80 v2
VP160 v3
QS8 v2
PB13 Ultra
Denon 3808
Samsung 85" Q70
Re: Hard drive cloning
jakewash #361768 12/24/11 09:29 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,815
Likes: 1
C
CV Offline OP
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
OP Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
C
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,815
Likes: 1
Oh, I meant to respond to this. J.B., thanks for the heads-up on the WD Edition of Acronis True Image. It's doing what I want. I've cloned one drive, and I'll start the other when I'm done with my system tonight.

Re: Hard drive cloning
CV #361803 12/24/11 07:22 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,815
Likes: 1
C
CV Offline OP
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
OP Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
C
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 11,815
Likes: 1
New hard drives are in and seem to be doing fine. Old hard drives are out. I had a new hard drive dock to help with the process, too:

Thermaltake BlacX Duet 5G ST0022U ABS Pl... Station, Black

I had a single-drive eSATA version but felt like upgrading to a dual-drive. This one uses USB 3.0. I didn't actually time it, but I think it took like 4-5 hours per drive. One drive had ~600 gigs on it, and the other had ~800 gigs.


Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,396
Posts432,297
Members15,418
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,815
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 261 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4