You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Advice from Axiom Owners » Anyone use these cables?

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#361823 - 12/24/11 06:21 PM Anyone use these cables?
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4195
Loc: Up yonder
Ya I know, cables are cables are cables.... I typically buy from monoprice or Blue Jeans, but these locking HDMI cables intrigue me, as I have had problems with HDMI cables coming loose or binding. I have a 35' older Belkin model HDMI cable that I bought from Blue Jeans several years ago. It doesn't even have a spec, so I was contemplating pulling it out and run a new cable when the new projector shows up. I'd rather not, seeing how it's stuck in the conduit along with a few other cables, but this would be an ideal time to tug it out of the conduit when the projector is down. Long story, but when I pulled all the cables into the 2" PVC run, I ran out of wire lube and used liquid soap. Well, that wasn't too brilliant of an idea as the soap has turned to solid goo over the years. I'll probably have to run water or steam through it and mount a tugger to get the cable out...

At any rate, what do you all think of these cables?

http://www.bettercables.com/35-foot-perfect-path-high-speed-locking-hdmi-cable.aspx
_________________________


Top
#361825 - 12/24/11 07:07 PM Re: Anyone use these cables? [Re: michael_d]
RickF Offline
axiomite

Registered: 02/26/05
Posts: 5210
Loc: Vero Beach, Florida
I'm in the same situation as you are Michael, I bought a 35' or 40' run of HDMI cable from monoprice six years ago and it made a turn for the south on me last week. Don't feel dumb about not putting the proper lube in the 2" PVC ... dumbass me never ran any PVC!

Fortunately that's for the TV and I did do a 25' run of HDMI cable for the pre-wired front projector location so now my procrastination days of buying a front projector is coming to a halt, the CFO gave me the green light and now it's time to go shopping.

Regarding the HDMI cables, the locking mechanism is very intriguing to me also because I feel the reason my HDMI cable failed is because the connection was lacking some form of interlocking between the two connectors and I've always felt as though the current connections suck to say the least.

I am not aware of the cable you are referencing but I'd surely pay extra to have what I would consider to be a tight, strong connection.
_________________________
Rick
Our Room

smile

Top
#361855 - 12/25/11 05:14 PM Re: Anyone use these cables? [Re: RickF]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Anything that will help keep HDMI cables in place is a good thing. Better cables has a decent reputation on the internet froma quick google, you should be OK to purchase from them.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#361889 - 12/26/11 01:31 PM Re: Anyone use these cables? [Re: jakewash]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4195
Loc: Up yonder
If you want a 'used' projector, I got one for ya Rick.... I think I might try the axiom auctions seeing how I'm buying new speakers too.

These cable come with an option for integrated Ethernet too. I not sure what good that would do, or why they have it. Are there devices out now that incorporate Ethernet and HDMI?
_________________________


Top
#361969 - 12/27/11 04:06 PM Re: Anyone use these cables? [Re: michael_d]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 4195
Loc: Up yonder
I asked BlueJeans about this cable, seeing how I bought it from them. I gave them the specifics, all the ID numbers on the cable and that I'm currently sending my projector a 1080P/60 signal without issue, and will be moving to a 1080P/60:3D signal. I've always appreciated their no-BS approach to marketing rhetoric.

Here's the response:

"I believe the cable you currently have is a Tartan 24AWG HDMI cable. While that particular length (35’) would be outside of the high-speed certified length, there is no HDMI cable produced by any manufacturer (to my knowledge) that has a longer high-speed certification than 25’. However, the category certified length is more of a baseline guarantee, rather than a maximum usable length. So, the fact that the cable does support 1080p/60 doesn’t surprise me too much at all; the functional signal you have now wouldn’t be improved even if you were to find a cable Category-2 (high-speed) certified at this longer length."
_________________________


Top
#361971 - 12/27/11 04:09 PM Re: Anyone use these cables? [Re: michael_d]
chesseroo Offline
axiomite

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 5180
Loc: western canada
Nice.
_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,260 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,055 Topics
424,825 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13576
CV 11681
MarkSJohnson 11444
1 registered (Mojo)
37 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup