You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Basement HT

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#362854 - 01/05/12 11:12 PM Basement HT
biglaw22 Offline
newbie

Registered: 01/05/12
Posts: 4
Loc: Wisconsin
So I'm in the process of designing the basement. As you can see I get to do almost anything I can dream up.
As you come down the stairs:



This is what I'd like to do, furniture will probably change... If you look I made a set of M22 in/on walls:)



So I need to figure out what speakers this area would need to I can make design changes before I start framing and running wire, this project has lots of time so no rush.

I'd love to do M60's or M80's, but they take up too much of the room and I need that so people can move around. That leaves me with in wall and in/on wall speakers. I'd like to keep them out of the wall so I can take them with me if I ever sell the house. So please let me know what speakers you think I can/should run and why.

I have a Yamaha RX-A1000 and I will be building a 15" horn loaded sub so thats taken care of.

Top
#362856 - 01/05/12 11:20 PM Re: Basement HT [Re: biglaw22]
Lampshade Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/08/05
Posts: 1235
Loc: Millis, MA
I am not joking about this, but I would make the bathroom a little bigger and fancier. That would be my "shrine" a little more than the home theater room.
_________________________
M3 and
M80

Top
#362860 - 01/05/12 11:29 PM Re: Basement HT [Re: Lampshade]
biglaw22 Offline
newbie

Registered: 01/05/12
Posts: 4
Loc: Wisconsin
I've thought about making the bathroom bigger but I need room to get around the furnace and water heater. I'm already going to relocate the water heater to get the bathroom to that size 5'x6' (that is where the existing plumbing is from when the house was built back in '78) I agree the bathroom could be bigger, but the house does have 2 other bathrooms a full and a 3/4.

The larger of the unmarked rooms is the workroom/utility room and the other is an extra bedroom that I'll use as a office.


Edited by biglaw22 (01/05/12 11:29 PM)

Top
#362862 - 01/05/12 11:42 PM Re: Basement HT [Re: Lampshade]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10634
Mike, welcome. If you want to avoid having the mains in the walls, then neither the in-wall nor 1n/on wall units are suitable. You could use the regular M22s mounted on the walls, which would of course protrude a bit more.

Just looking at your diagram, the side surrounds(probably QS8s)should be directly to the side of the listening position in a 7.1 setup and the back surrounds just slightly wider than shown, about even with the outer edge of the couch.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#362876 - 01/06/12 01:44 AM Re: Basement HT [Re: JohnK]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I would spend the extra cash(ok alot of extra cash) to have the furnace and water heater moved to the side which would mean replacing them for direct vent versions. This would open the basement up even more, you could then think about floorstanding speakers or at least the larger bathroom with all that extra floor space.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#362882 - 01/06/12 07:59 AM Re: Basement HT [Re: jakewash]
biglaw22 Offline
newbie

Registered: 01/05/12
Posts: 4
Loc: Wisconsin
I'm ok with putting the in/on walls in, I can patch and add speaker terminals to the wall. I just don't want to pull a whole cabinet out of the wall. Would the QS8's function properly with the back wall being so far way, how would I mount the one by the bar?

I'm not going to move the furnace, although it would be ice if the basement was more open, but I would still have the support beams to deal with. The whole object of finishing this basement is to do it as efficiently as I can. I need to balance function with cost, hence the bathroom using the existing plumbing location. I'm going to be doing all of the work myself, thats what makes this project manageable, and I enjoy doing it.

This basement is way overkill for the house, but I'm doing the work so I'm going to make it look good and the way I want. I'll update the main floor after the basement is done.

Top
#363401 - 01/11/12 03:10 PM Re: Basement HT [Re: biglaw22]
btcs41 Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 12/22/11
Posts: 17
Nice start! How high are your ceilings?

Top
#363525 - 01/12/12 12:37 PM Re: Basement HT [Re: Lampshade]
bridgman Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/25/04
Posts: 6117
Loc: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: Lampshade
I am not joking about this, but I would make the bathroom a little bigger and fancier. That would be my "shrine" a little more than the home theater room.


Maybe swap the toilet and the couch ?

Oh, and put a lock on the basement door wink
_________________________
M60ti, VP180, QS8, M2ti, PC-Plus 20-39, EP500v3
2 pr M5HP, Sierra-1, M40ti, M3v4, VP100
UDP-203 smile

Top
#364455 - 01/20/12 10:01 PM Re: Basement HT [Re: bridgman]
biglaw22 Offline
newbie

Registered: 01/05/12
Posts: 4
Loc: Wisconsin
The ceilings are 90" high.

Top
#364457 - 01/20/12 11:13 PM Re: Basement HT [Re: biglaw22]
btcs41 Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 12/22/11
Posts: 17
Originally Posted By: biglaw22
The ceilings are 90" high.


Nice. Mine is 84"...before any type of ceiling. Coupled with being a tall guy, it's just too tiny down there. So I fixed up an unused room on the first floor.

Have fun!

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,260 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,055 Topics
424,801 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13576
CV 11681
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
168 Guests and
5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup