Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Mac users running windows....
#365844 02/05/12 09:25 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
I was going to try this so I could use a couple of windows programs but wanted to hear from you guys if it works good, only works ok or is a pain in the butt. I don't really need it but don't mind buying the Parallels program and a copy of windows if it works right.


M3 and
M80
Re: Mac users running windows....
Lampshade #365845 02/05/12 09:28 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,690
Likes: 1
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 13,690
Likes: 1
I don't own a mac, but I've heard bootcamp is popular and lets you boot into either operating system.


M80s VP180 4xM22ow 4xM3ic EP600 2xEP350
AnthemAVM60 Outlaw7700 EmoA500 Epson5040UB SonyUBPX800


Re: Mac users running windows....
Lampshade #365846 02/05/12 09:44 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,185
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,185
You can use Parallels or if you want to try the concept, give VirtualBox a try. It's free.

Re: Mac users running windows....
Lampshade #365847 02/05/12 10:36 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
You could also use VMware Fusion, which is my weapon of choice, since I'm a VMware guy. That said, I'm working on a project with Parallels, and another with KVM, and I've used VirtualBox. Go ahead and try VBox first and if it doesn't do whatever for you, try one of the paid ones.

If your computer is fast enough, they all work just fine. I would turn down the effects in Windows to make it work best, and I'd recommend using Win7.

Last edited by Ken.C; 02/05/12 10:38 PM.

I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: Mac users running windows....
Lampshade #365848 02/05/12 10:47 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
Ok, thanks guys. I have a pretty good MacBook pro that is less than a year old. I think I will buy a copy of windows seven and then do the free trials and see what one I like best.


M3 and
M80
Re: Mac users running windows....
Lampshade #365854 02/06/12 12:27 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
J
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
J
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
Good timing for this thread, we bought an iMac last week, good to know about these things.


Jason
M80 v2
VP160 v3
QS8 v2
PB13 Ultra
Denon 3808
Samsung 85" Q70
Re: Mac users running windows....
jakewash #365857 02/06/12 12:49 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 484
devotee
Offline
devotee
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 484
What about going the other way around? What, if any, are the practical options available for running Apple programs on a Windows box? I've Googled a fair bit but haven't found any good solutions to do so.

I'd love to be able to play with the new iBook Author to see what kind of end product I can come up with, but I don't have a Mac machine. Is the only real option to purchase one, like a Mac mini?

Re: Mac users running windows....
Lampshade #365858 02/06/12 01:18 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
J
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
J
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,420
I'm thinking reversing the scenario Ken proposed would work, running the Mac OS in a virtual machine on an intel based PC.


Jason
M80 v2
VP160 v3
QS8 v2
PB13 Ultra
Denon 3808
Samsung 85" Q70
Re: Mac users running windows....
Lampshade #365859 02/06/12 01:30 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
That's prohibited by Apple licensing, which all the virtualization vendors are honoring. So, in short, it's not possible.


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: Mac users running windows....
Lampshade #365861 02/06/12 02:20 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,185
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,185
The only way to do the reverse is make a Hackintosh. Technically, it's not legal.

The only warning I'd give you is to make sure you have at least 4GB of RAM. Anything less is unusable.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,396
Posts432,297
Members15,418
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,690
CV 11,815
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 247 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4