You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » The Water Cooler » Mac users running windows....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#365844 - 02/05/12 04:25 PM Mac users running windows....
Lampshade Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/08/05
Posts: 1235
Loc: Millis, MA
I was going to try this so I could use a couple of windows programs but wanted to hear from you guys if it works good, only works ok or is a pain in the butt. I don't really need it but don't mind buying the Parallels program and a copy of windows if it works right.
_________________________
M3 and
M80

Top
#365845 - 02/05/12 04:28 PM Re: Mac users running windows.... [Re: Lampshade]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13571
Loc: Iowa
I don't own a mac, but I've heard bootcamp is popular and lets you boot into either operating system.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-4xM22ow-4xM3ic-EP600-2xEP350
Anthem AVM60 Outlaw 7700 Emotiva A500 Epson 5040UB



Top
#365846 - 02/05/12 04:44 PM Re: Mac users running windows.... [Re: Lampshade]
oldskoolboarder Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/25/03
Posts: 2181
Loc: Menlo Park, CA
You can use Parallels or if you want to try the concept, give VirtualBox a try. It's free.

Top
#365847 - 02/05/12 05:36 PM Re: Mac users running windows.... [Re: Lampshade]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
You could also use VMware Fusion, which is my weapon of choice, since I'm a VMware guy. That said, I'm working on a project with Parallels, and another with KVM, and I've used VirtualBox. Go ahead and try VBox first and if it doesn't do whatever for you, try one of the paid ones.

If your computer is fast enough, they all work just fine. I would turn down the effects in Windows to make it work best, and I'd recommend using Win7.


Edited by Ken.C (02/05/12 05:38 PM)
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#365848 - 02/05/12 05:47 PM Re: Mac users running windows.... [Re: Lampshade]
Lampshade Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/08/05
Posts: 1235
Loc: Millis, MA
Ok, thanks guys. I have a pretty good MacBook pro that is less than a year old. I think I will buy a copy of windows seven and then do the free trials and see what one I like best.
_________________________
M3 and
M80

Top
#365854 - 02/05/12 07:27 PM Re: Mac users running windows.... [Re: Lampshade]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Good timing for this thread, we bought an iMac last week, good to know about these things.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#365857 - 02/05/12 07:49 PM Re: Mac users running windows.... [Re: jakewash]
Kruncher Offline
devotee

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 484
Loc: Maple Ridge, BC
What about going the other way around? What, if any, are the practical options available for running Apple programs on a Windows box? I've Googled a fair bit but haven't found any good solutions to do so.

I'd love to be able to play with the new iBook Author to see what kind of end product I can come up with, but I don't have a Mac machine. Is the only real option to purchase one, like a Mac mini?

Top
#365858 - 02/05/12 08:18 PM Re: Mac users running windows.... [Re: Lampshade]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10415
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I'm thinking reversing the scenario Ken proposed would work, running the Mac OS in a virtual machine on an intel based PC.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#365859 - 02/05/12 08:30 PM Re: Mac users running windows.... [Re: Lampshade]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
That's prohibited by Apple licensing, which all the virtualization vendors are honoring. So, in short, it's not possible.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#365861 - 02/05/12 09:20 PM Re: Mac users running windows.... [Re: Lampshade]
oldskoolboarder Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/25/03
Posts: 2181
Loc: Menlo Park, CA
The only way to do the reverse is make a Hackintosh. Technically, it's not legal.

The only warning I'd give you is to make sure you have at least 4GB of RAM. Anything less is unusable.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,233 Registered Members
15 Forums
24,007 Topics
424,186 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13571
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
0 registered ()
14 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup