Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
EQ Setup advice
#371369 03/28/12 08:22 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 119
M
mreed Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
M
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 119
Everyone here has been so helpful, it's so nice having a place to get live answers from knowlegeable people instead of trying to decipher article after article..THANK YOU to everyone here. I need some more help. Just installed my new Epic grand master in/on wall system. Love the new M22's, had M50's (which I love) but these M22's are amazing. Anyway, I have a HK 645 with Ezset EQ and have given up trying to use it, the mic never detects all the speakers no matter how many times I run it. I had the same problem with it in the past with my M50/M3 setup and finally gave up on it. So I am configuring the system manually by ear. I set the size (small), distances, crossovers (80) and levels to what sounds like even to me. Overall I am happy with the sound but seem to get inconsistent results with the sub. Seems like sometimes it's too loud and sometimes not loud enough. This is my first setup of this type (with a sub) so I dont have much experience to reference to. There is a noticeable difference between my Oppo DVD and my BR. The Oppo is run through HDMI. The BR is run 6 channel analog out to AVR. The sub is turned on in the BR. The AVR has 6/8 channel analog setting where I get no sub even with sub on in BR but also has a 6/8 channel DVD Audio setting where I do get sub. I was watching a movie called super 8 which I assumed would have good audio effects, there was a train wreck and explosions but none of which was any louder than the dialog or other sounds even with sub turned all the way up. Should sub be turned off in BR settings? Is that causing some sort of conflict?

Re: EQ Setup advice
mreed #371377 03/28/12 09:45 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,767
E
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
E
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,767
I too was new to using the automatic EQ setup with my last year's Denon receiver. Never once did it not hear the speakers & set them appropriately. I have a Sony DVD hooked up to the Denon via component & my PS3 via HDMI both in default output settings. Seems to work just fine.

I have 2 M22s sitting atop twin 10" Velo subs. When I first ran the EQ program, I had my subs' internal level set to 4 (out of 10). The results were way too high so I began turning down the subs' internal level. After several more runs, the subs are now set at 2.5. So the system does work.

Even though my HT system is decidedly modest, the Super 8 train wreck shook & rattled my house with vigour at -5Db volume.

Hopefully some of the HT gurus here can provide more assistance than I can...

TAM

Last edited by exlabdriver; 03/28/12 09:48 PM.
Re: EQ Setup advice
mreed #371378 03/28/12 09:50 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 119
M
mreed Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
M
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 119
Thanks, I appreciate you letting me know its not the movie, I havent had time to watch another one, confirms there is a setting problem somewhere.

Re: EQ Setup advice
mreed #371392 03/28/12 10:47 PM
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 92
old hand
Offline
old hand
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 92
In my experience, it's awfully tough to set a subwoofer's level by ear. If you're up to a bit of effort, get yourself a sound meter from your local Radio Shack and one of the set up disks that's available (I use "HD Basics", I think it is). These are really useful for getting your monitor set as accurately as possible without hiring a professional, and for setting the levels of the various possible speaker setups for a home theater. The disk walks you right through the whole process. Really simple, and it gets things quite close to just right.


Music is the best -- FZ
Re: EQ Setup advice
whippersnapper #371393 03/28/12 10:52 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
Originally Posted By: whippersnapper
In my experience, it's awfully tough to set a subwoofer's level by ear.


Wait, your not suppose to just set the gain to max?

Re: EQ Setup advice
mreed #371436 03/29/12 03:57 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,786
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,786
Quote:
Seems like sometimes it's too loud and sometimes not loud enough.

This could be for a few reasons:

1. Different sound tracks will have their LFE (sub) set at different levels. Some movies (like the last Terminator) have really hot bass.

2. It could be the interaction between your room and certain low frequencies. Sometimes the interaction between your sub and the room can amplify some frequencies. If one sound track has more material in it for that frequency range, it will sound loud and/or boomy.

I agree with whippersnapper on sub setup. I originally did mine by ear and the sub was about 5-7 db hot. It took a bit to get used to the proper sub volume, but it really did sound better properly calibrated.


Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!
Re: EQ Setup advice
mreed #371438 03/29/12 04:16 AM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
Please tell us which model blu ray player you are using. There might be a setting that you are missing. How come you are not using HDMI?

I ran my Blu Ray for years without HDMI and it can very confusing.


M3 and
M80
Re: EQ Setup advice
mreed #371458 03/29/12 11:51 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 119
M
mreed Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
M
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 119
BR is a Samsung BD-C6500. The HDMI is running directly to TV so kids can watch movies without avr so I am using analog. I went into the setup menu of BR again this morning and ran the speaker setup. When speakers are set to small the sub defaults as on, when speakers set to large the sub can be on or off. There are no crossover options. There is a test tone built in to speaker setup, when I run the test tone I get no sound from Sub.

Re: EQ Setup advice
mreed #371484 03/29/12 04:05 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
connoisseur
Offline
connoisseur
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
I won't have time to read the manual until later, but how bout this...

run the analog to the tv for the kids and hdmi to the avr for you.


M3 and
M80
Re: EQ Setup advice
mreed #371485 03/29/12 04:12 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 119
M
mreed Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
M
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 119
I appreciate that advice but I'm trying to avoid running new cables, everything is already in the wall to the TV. If I try a spl meter and setup disc which disc do the guys here recommend?

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,495
Posts434,578
Members15,442
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,707
CV 11,918
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 343 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4