You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » PS3 2-channel = no sub

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#376361 - 05/16/12 02:19 PM PS3 2-channel = no sub
spiffnme Offline
axiomite

Registered: 04/01/03
Posts: 5233
Loc: Los Angeles
After a nice run, my original 60gb PS3 died. frown Since hooking up the new one, when ever I play a 2-channel source and set my receiver to "stereo", I get no output from my sub. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? I have a vague memory of that being a PS3 setting change I needed to make, but I've gone through them and don't see what it could be.
_________________________
"A nation cannot prosper long, when it favors only the prosperous." -President Barack Obama

Top
#376379 - 05/16/12 03:59 PM Re: PS3 2-channel = no sub [Re: spiffnme]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
What kind of receiver do you have?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#376402 - 05/16/12 06:58 PM Re: PS3 2-channel = no sub [Re: spiffnme]
cb919 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/17/09
Posts: 1166
Loc: Ottawa, Canada
What's the hookup? HDMI? Optical? Are you bit streaming to the receiver or are you sending LPCM? Not sure what difference any of that will make, but maybe will help you track down the setting adjustment that's needed.
_________________________
Dan
On-Wall M5HP LCR, QS8 & EP500 in 7.1

Top
#376405 - 05/16/12 07:34 PM Re: PS3 2-channel = no sub [Re: spiffnme]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
I'm not sure either, but the newer models can bitstream while the old ones couldn't. Wonder if picking LPCM will make it do what you want.
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#376414 - 05/16/12 09:35 PM Re: PS3 2-channel = no sub [Re: spiffnme]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10634
Craig, it's unlikely, but make sure that you also have the right receiver settings for sub operation, e.g., sub selected on, mains set "small", etc. Of course, if you have no problem with other 2-channel source material, that isn't the answer.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#376430 - 05/17/12 04:53 AM Re: PS3 2-channel = no sub [Re: spiffnme]
spiffnme Offline
axiomite

Registered: 04/01/03
Posts: 5233
Loc: Los Angeles
HDMI from PS3 to Onkyo TX-SR876

I'll have to check on the PS3 settings tomorrow.

DVD/Blu-Ray playback both work perfectly. (Onkyo "sees" that signal as "multi-channel audio".
_________________________
"A nation cannot prosper long, when it favors only the prosperous." -President Barack Obama

Top
#376440 - 05/17/12 08:17 AM Re: PS3 2-channel = no sub [Re: spiffnme]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Ah, if it's multi-channel audio, then you're right, there must be a setting on the PS3. Is there a speaker setup section or something? (don't own a PS3, therefore not useful)
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#376441 - 05/17/12 09:37 AM Re: PS3 2-channel = no sub [Re: spiffnme]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3466
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
There's no speaker setup, per se, it just detects the maximum number of channels, along with the highest sampling rate supported by the upstream device when connected via HDMI. The PS3 never does any crossover/bass management work, so it's entirely the receiver not liking something it's getting.
_________________________
Pioneer PDP-5020FD, Marantz SR6011
Axiom M5HP, VP160HP, QS8
Sony PS4, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#376442 - 05/17/12 09:40 AM Re: PS3 2-channel = no sub [Re: spiffnme]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Well, if it's coming into the receiver set as Multi-Channel, the receiver's doing no processing. That's just raw PCM. He'd have to change it to Stereo, DPL2, Neo6, or something in order to do any processing on the signal to send stuff to the sub.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,270 Registered Members
16 Forums
24,072 Topics
425,097 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13579
CV 11694
MarkSJohnson 11444
0 registered ()
167 Guests and
4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup