Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
AxiomAudio Blog

Insider’s Sneak Peek: AxiomAeris

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Who's Online
4 registered (exlabdriver, MarkSJohnson, newf, nickbuol), 67 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13,380 Registered Members
11 Forums
23,218 Topics
411,200 Posts

Most users ever online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17932
pmbuko 16357
SirQuack 13357
CV 11473
MarkSJohnson 11200
Meanwhile On Facebook
Page 48 of 139 < 1 2 46 47 48 49 50 138 139 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#379145 - 06/27/12 12:32 PM Re: CatBrat [Re: CatBrat]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6955
Loc: PEI, Canada
Hey Brian, there is no need to guess about these things in today's information age.

Here is a UPS calculator I often use for PBX gear. Choose the middle column and ignore that it says it is for Telecom. Just choose the [Configure by Load] button and enter in the total amount of wattage for all your gear totalled together and then the other preferences you can pick.

It will result in an overkill model from their lineup but you can compare the stats of the model with other units you are considering. I like it because at the bottom of each model it shows a graph of the % of total utilization you are using.

UPS Sizing Selector

Here is another that simply shows the suggested minimum size you need. Just ignore the labels on each row. You can put the wattage for any device into any row and it will still be the same total.

A simpler one.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#379149 - 06/27/12 01:16 PM Re: CatBrat [Re: Murph]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Originally Posted By: Murph
Hey Brian, there is no need to guess about these things in today's information age.

Here is a UPS calculator I often use for PBX gear. Choose the middle column and ignore that it says it is for Telecom. Just choose the [Configure by Load] button and enter in the total amount of wattage for all your gear totalled together and then the other preferences you can pick.

It will result in an overkill model from their lineup but you can compare the stats of the model with other units you are considering. I like it because at the bottom of each model it shows a graph of the % of total utilization you are using.

UPS Sizing Selector

Here is another that simply shows the suggested minimum size you need. Just ignore the labels on each row. You can put the wattage for any device into any row and it will still be the same total.

A simpler one.


I used the 1st one, and did a calculation "by load".

TV = 560 Watts
Receiver = 670 Watts
BDP = 35 Watts

Total = 1265 Watts with zero expansion for 10 minutes.

From that I get this unit. Where it would cost me $770.31 (today) for a UPS. That seems a little severe. I guess I won't be replacing my Monster unit any time soon.


Edited by CatBrat (06/27/12 01:21 PM)

Top
#379172 - 06/27/12 05:40 PM Re: CatBrat [Re: CatBrat]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy

Top
#379179 - 06/27/12 07:10 PM Re: CatBrat [Re: CatBrat]
Gary Vose Sr Offline
devotee

Registered: 03/17/12
Posts: 302
Loc: Casa Grande, AZ
Originally Posted By: CatBrat



Pretty impressive library for sure. But where are the rating stars?
_________________________
"When arguing with an IDIOT... make sure the person you're talking to... isn't doing the same."

Top
#379188 - 06/27/12 09:43 PM Re: CatBrat [Re: Gary Vose Sr]
duckman Offline
devotee

Registered: 01/09/03
Posts: 312
Loc: kansas
That cyperpower unit has a following over on avs, fwiw.
I've been kicking around getting one of the Furman units myself.
_________________________
Just say No to HDMI

Top
#379201 - 06/27/12 11:50 PM Re: CatBrat [Re: CatBrat]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1849
is John carter any good?

Top
#379222 - 06/28/12 09:38 AM Re: CatBrat [Re: dakkon]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Originally Posted By: dakkon
is John carter any good?


I liked it. It's a good sci-fi flic. The 3D version didn't add much, if anything, in my opinion.

Top
#379223 - 06/28/12 09:45 AM Re: CatBrat [Re: duckman]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
Originally Posted By: duckman
That cyberpower unit has a following over on avs, fwiw.
I've been kicking around getting one of the Furman units myself.


The up time seems a little short with this unit:
Satellite Receiver + Game Console + Projector = 7 Minutes

The Furman f1000-ups, which you mentioned, is $700 on Amazon, whereas the Furman F1500-ups is about $1200 on Amazon.

The APC UPS that I mentioned seems to be closer to the f1500-ups for around $890 (today) on Amazon.

Given these choices, I'd probably go with the APC UPS.

Top
#379237 - 06/28/12 12:46 PM Re: CatBrat [Re: CatBrat]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
I read in avsforum about the APC UPS SMT2200. It's fan run's constantly. Quietly, but still audible. This isn't a problem for me since my equipment's plug-in's are in a different room.

Top
#379242 - 06/28/12 02:00 PM Re: CatBrat [Re: CatBrat]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17932
Loc: NoVA
It apparently also supplies extra apostrophes.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
Page 48 of 139 < 1 2 46 47 48 49 50 138 139 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.