You are not logged in. [Log In]


Forums » General Discussion » Home Theater » Cable service provider, who do you have?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#379939 - 07/12/12 05:19 PM Cable service provider, who do you have?
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1863
Right now I have Time Warner. We have a "bundle" cable/internet/phone.. The cable package we have is the basic HD.. The reason i bring this up, is that our bill is 195$ a month...


Verizon Fios isn't an option, due to no availability in my neighborhood.

My other option is AT&T Uverse.

So, my question is. How reliable is has the AT&T service proven to be for those of you that have chosen to go that route.

If i switch to AT&T, i can easily get more channels and the same internet speed and phone for equal to my current monthly cost, or less.

Thanks.

Top
#379940 - 07/12/12 05:45 PM Re: Cable service provider, who do you have? [Re: dakkon]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 6015
Loc: Milky Way Galaxy
I've had AT&T DSL for the past 3 years. The only problem I've had is poor customer service when my modem was breaking down. I had to buy a new one from Radio Shack before they would believe me that the modem was the problem. Paying $48 a month for about 3.5 (whatever this number represents in speed). Supposed to be getting about 5.

U-VERSE may be a totally different experience.

Top
#379941 - 07/12/12 08:07 PM Re: Cable service provider, who do you have? [Re: dakkon]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
FiOS.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#379942 - 07/12/12 08:59 PM Re: Cable service provider, who do you have? [Re: dakkon]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1863
Ken, i would get Fios, when i switched to Time Warner i tried.... Actually, i just checked again... Still no service in my area... I don't think my neighborhood has the infrastructure for Fios, one of my cousins lives 2 miles away. She is in a different city, and she has Fios mad..! Her bill is 200$, and they have EVERY channel available accept for the nude channels. This is what has prompted me to want to change services....

Top
#379944 - 07/12/12 09:39 PM Re: Cable service provider, who do you have? [Re: dakkon]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
Oh, sorry, I was just answering the title question.

I had decent service with AT&T DSL back in California. I didn't have U-Verse (they never offered it in my area), but I wouldn't have hesitated to get it. They kept their prices much more stable than Comcast ever did.


Edited by Ken.C (07/12/12 09:40 PM)
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#379945 - 07/12/12 09:50 PM Re: Cable service provider, who do you have? [Re: dakkon]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10621
Alex, when you say that AT&T U-verse is an option, their full package includes fiber optic internet and TV when they're fully operational in a location. If you mean that's what your cousin has two miles away, it might be that AT&T is about to complete their installation in your area, and you might check directly with a representative to see what the status is.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#379946 - 07/12/12 10:26 PM Re: Cable service provider, who do you have? [Re: dakkon]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1863
ken, no worries..

John, my cousen has Verizon Fios...

i could call tomorrow to see if AT&T is using fiber in my
neighborhood or not..

Top
#379947 - 07/12/12 11:11 PM Re: Cable service provider, who do you have? [Re: dakkon]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 18044
Loc: NoVA
By definition, U-verse is fiber to the neighborhood, then DSL from there to the house. FiOS is fiber to the house. If there ain't no AT&T fiber, there ain't no U-verse.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#379954 - 07/13/12 12:30 AM Re: Cable service provider, who do you have? [Re: dakkon]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1863
Ken, thanks.. We don't have fiber in our neighborhood... This is the infrastructure that i was thinking of. However, i though U-verse was fiber all of the way to the house as well...

I will think on it for a bit, thanks for the input guys.

Top
#379956 - 07/13/12 02:36 AM Re: Cable service provider, who do you have? [Re: dakkon]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1863
I tried to call AT&T tonight, after trying and failing to get ahold of a person for 20 minutes, i think i will pass on AT&T, if it is that hard to get ahold of a person i would rather pay a bit more money and actually be able to talk to a person to get a problem solved if i have one....

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 
Forum Stats

15,224 Registered Members
15 Forums
23,992 Topics
424,050 Posts

Most users ever online:
883 @ 03/04/17 05:06 PM

Top Posters
Ken.C 18044
pmbuko 16437
SirQuack 13567
CV 11677
MarkSJohnson 11437
1 registered (Gr8_White_North)
55 Guests and
3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup