Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Crap, my computer has been rootkitted
fredk #382885 09/17/12 01:10 PM
axiomite
axiomite
I'm no expert on removals but to add some unwelcome pessimism, be sure to check your system carefully after system restores. Even a full format & reinstall of the OS can be reinfected in seconds after the first full boot up. Some of the more sinister packages out there are now downloading fake bios updates for components. These infected components (once untouchable) remain infected and can trigger the reintroduction of the unwanted package.

For those wondering WTF I am talking about, I'll try to explain.
One of the nice things about being connected to the Internet is that if you buy buggy hardware, there is often an update available as a download to fix it. What used to be permanent ROM on motherboards and components is now up-datable and the extremely ambitious villains are now taking advantage of this.

As a very recent axample that I have seen first hand, a former workmate of mine has been struggling for over a month now after realizing his laptop was hijacked by some malicious code. Even though he is a computer geek of the elite kind, he only became aware of this after becoming a waypoint for a DOS attack and had his ISP send his IP to nullsville land for a while. In short, he was denied any and all Internet access and was told he was part of a DOS attack when he called the support line to see what was up.

After multiple failed removal attempts, restore points, system wipes, installing alternate OSs from USB sticks, etc. He used a utility in Linux to look at all the BIOS loads on his hardware and discovered that the BIOS for his onboard video card had a suspicious looking name to it. Further research showed that this was indeed an infected copy of the manufacturer's BIOS and was likely loaded by a trojan like zeroaccess that has the ability to download and install other items.