Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
Who's Online
4 registered (craigsub, nickbuol, Socketman, Ian), 30 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13364 Members
11 Forums
23095 Topics
408344 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17857
pmbuko 16323
SirQuack 13356
CV 11397
MarkSJohnson 11072
Meanwhile On Facebook

For all of you music lovers and studio geeks, this is absolutely amazing! https...

Monday morning grin! (y)

Time to hang up our skis . . . and rock our M22-in-walls while we wait for the m...

󾠔 It's the end of a long, long era at Axiom today. Brent Tombari is retiring fr...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#385595 - 11/13/12 10:28 AM Troubleshooting a Preamp
CosmicVoyager Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/01/04
Posts: 789
Loc: Asheville, NC
Is there a safe or a best practice approach when troubleshooting a preamp? I actually have an Integra DTR7.3. The preamp outputs going to my Outlaw seem to have stopped functioning.

Thanks!
_________________________
M80's VP150 QS8's Earthquake SuperNova MKV-15
Integra DTR-7.4 Outlaw 755 Outlaw M200's Outlaw ICBM

Top
#385616 - 11/13/12 07:36 PM Re: Troubleshooting a Preamp [Re: CosmicVoyager]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13356
Loc: Iowa
are you sure it is not the amp they are hooked to?
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#385617 - 11/13/12 08:14 PM Re: Troubleshooting a Preamp [Re: CosmicVoyager]
CosmicVoyager Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/01/04
Posts: 789
Loc: Asheville, NC
I'm still working through the process. The amp tested well and so did the preamp but only after unplugging the trigger cable from the Outlaw amp. I still need to figure out why the trigger cable is doing the opposite of what it's supposed to do. Time to crack open the manual...
_________________________
M80's VP150 QS8's Earthquake SuperNova MKV-15
Integra DTR-7.4 Outlaw 755 Outlaw M200's Outlaw ICBM

Top
#385618 - 11/13/12 08:19 PM Re: Troubleshooting a Preamp [Re: CosmicVoyager]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13356
Loc: Iowa
I have a trigger from my Denon to my Outlaw and works good. Possibly a setting in the Integra. At least you know things work without the trigger cable..
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#385619 - 11/13/12 09:33 PM Re: Troubleshooting a Preamp [Re: CosmicVoyager]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10453
Tom, I suppose you may have already checked this, but be sure that in the menu setting for the triggers, you have the trigger out connected to the amp(A or B)turned on.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#385646 - 11/14/12 10:42 AM Re: Troubleshooting a Preamp [Re: CosmicVoyager]
CosmicVoyager Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/01/04
Posts: 789
Loc: Asheville, NC
I'll check that! Thanks!
_________________________
M80's VP150 QS8's Earthquake SuperNova MKV-15
Integra DTR-7.4 Outlaw 755 Outlaw M200's Outlaw ICBM

Top
#385669 - 11/14/12 06:41 PM Re: Troubleshooting a Preamp [Re: CosmicVoyager]
CosmicVoyager Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/01/04
Posts: 789
Loc: Asheville, NC
I fixed everything except a new ground hum. Getting closer to bliss! smile
_________________________
M80's VP150 QS8's Earthquake SuperNova MKV-15
Integra DTR-7.4 Outlaw 755 Outlaw M200's Outlaw ICBM

Top
#385678 - 11/14/12 09:30 PM Re: Troubleshooting a Preamp [Re: CosmicVoyager]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10453
Was the trigger out not turned on?
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#385681 - 11/15/12 08:56 AM Re: Troubleshooting a Preamp [Re: CosmicVoyager]
CosmicVoyager Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/01/04
Posts: 789
Loc: Asheville, NC
It was turned on in the Integra. However, the Panamax power conditioner had it disabled on a switch in back.

Keep in mind, my system has been moved physically, so who knows what may have changed?
_________________________
M80's VP150 QS8's Earthquake SuperNova MKV-15
Integra DTR-7.4 Outlaw 755 Outlaw M200's Outlaw ICBM

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.