Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-888-352-9466 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


Wall'O'Fame
Solarrdadd's 7.1 Apartment HT!
A promise is A promise... Axiom's second home
AxiomAudio Blog

Insider’s Sneak Peek: AxiomAeris

Axiom’s New Computer Speakers

Blind Listening Tests

Who's Online
2 registered (chesseroo, CV), 43 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13,379 Registered Members
11 Forums
23,193 Topics
410,692 Posts

Most users ever online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17922
pmbuko 16349
SirQuack 13357
CV 11462
MarkSJohnson 11187
Meanwhile On Facebook
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#386386 - 11/30/12 10:30 PM EV Essentials HD Calibration
GregM Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/03/04
Posts: 171
Loc: Monroe, WA
I just used this to calibrate my Epson 8350 in hopes of getting better contrast and black levels and to my mixed surprise, found the settings I had very close to optimal based on the test signals.

I did find one issue however. While viewing the gray scale ramp and 2% and 4% gray scale images, the 2% image was simply not viewable. Even if I bumped brightness all the way up to where the 4% was a very bright gray, the 2% was simply not there. I have to think this is an error on the disc and wanted to see if anyone else noticed it or if my projector is completely lost on this calibration.

Greg

Top
#386387 - 11/30/12 10:37 PM Re: EV Essentials HD Calibration [Re: GregM]
GregM Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/03/04
Posts: 171
Loc: Monroe, WA
Nevermind.

I just ran the same tests on my Panasonic Vierra and what a difference!

Both the 2% and 4% gray levels were there and I can clearly see why this tv has such better viewing than the Epson 8350 projector. The black levels and contrast are just worlds apart between these two.

Greg

Top
#386391 - 11/30/12 10:42 PM Re: EV Essentials HD Calibration [Re: GregM]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8408
Loc: Tacoma
Well, that pretty much kills any inclination I might have had to get a projector.

What is the model of your Panny?
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#386393 - 11/30/12 11:01 PM Re: EV Essentials HD Calibration [Re: GregM]
St_PatGuy Offline
axiomite

Registered: 03/07/05
Posts: 7443
Loc: Glendale, Arizona
New TV fever is catching!
_________________________
***********
"Nothin' up my sleeve. . ." --Bullwinkle J. Moose

Top
#386395 - 11/30/12 11:13 PM Re: EV Essentials HD Calibration [Re: tomtuttle]
GregM Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/03/04
Posts: 171
Loc: Monroe, WA
Originally Posted By: tomtuttle
Well, that pretty much kills any inclination I might have had to get a projector.

What is the model of your Panny?


TC-P50ST30

Keep in mind my PJ is three years old, only a couple hundred hours on the lamp though, and maybe the newer ones are much better. Also keep in mind that $1,200 for a 106" image is way cheaper than say a 90" tv that runs $10,000. Front PJ's are still a great deal on $/inch. Maybe a $5,000 projector would take care of this but I can't afford that kind of money.

Greg

Top
#386421 - 12/01/12 12:16 PM Re: EV Essentials HD Calibration [Re: GregM]
Gary Vose Sr Offline
devotee

Registered: 03/17/12
Posts: 302
Loc: Casa Grande, AZ
That particular projector was an entry level projector three year ago. An entry level JVC projector today would be leaps and bounds better than this Epson model, with it's feature set, but especially with it's black levels/contrast.
_________________________
"When arguing with an IDIOT... make sure the person you're talking to... isn't doing the same."

Top
#386438 - 12/01/12 08:45 PM Re: EV Essentials HD Calibration [Re: GregM]
GregM Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/03/04
Posts: 171
Loc: Monroe, WA
The problem, believe it or not, was with my Onkyo 809 receiver.

When I plugged the BD player directly into the Epson, the test signal from the DV Essentials Blu Ray calibration disc displayed correctly. When I routed back through the 809 information was either missing or the image was just so dark they could not be brought out.

I performed a firmware upgrade and now all is well. At least with respect to the PJ displaying information correctly that is. The image still lacks contrast/shadow detail but at least now I know I have it setup correctly.

Greg


Edited by GregM (12/01/12 08:45 PM)

Top

Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2015 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.