Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
AVR choices for a Technicphobe
#388001 01/09/13 07:02 AM
C
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
C
Hello All: I've visited this forum for a few years now. It has been informative and enlightening and I enjoy reading the postings and learning. But many respondents on this forum have technical and specific demands for equipment well beyond my own.

I've been debating with myself for many months which AVR to buy. I've gone from considering Arcams, B&K's, NADs, Rotels, Cambridge's to Denons, Pioneers and now I am looking at the Marantz 5007. I am not technical and have little interest in the intricacies, bells and whistles associated with setting up and listening to anything near a cinema-house quality theatre in my home. I do not listen to music at reference levels, the M80's sound just fine at the volume I set and I can compensate for the lack of bass at lower listening levels by adjusting my old but decent subwoofer. I would just like to set up a decent 5.1 system. I have enough other speakers for now that will suffice to create the 5.1 system. My first investment in this new venture commenced about two years ago when I bought a pair of M80v3's. I am very happy with them. My next task is to buy a surround receiver, but after reading so much on the subject here and on other forums I've been "gun shy" with all the technical issues that could arise. It is not like the old days which were more "plug 'n play" like my present 1980's vintage Denon stereo receiver which I am using with fine results @ 55 watts per channel.