Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388079 01/10/13 03:20 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,015
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,015
I've been using this NETGEAR Wireless Router - N900 Dual Band Gigabit (WNDR4500) now for the past 3 years without a hic-up.

Mine is either this one, or one very similar. The only difference is mine has a silver stand. This one looks to be clear.

The range on mine is about 2 doors down the street. I took my I pad with me once to test how far I could use it.

Last edited by CatBrat; 01/10/13 04:00 PM.
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388082 01/10/13 03:31 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,450
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,450
Still my first choice.

I can't believe that this joke just never gets old!



::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388083 01/10/13 03:33 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
STOP TEMPTING ME.


I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388084 01/10/13 03:34 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,450
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,450
I have a Linksys E4200 that I like a lot. I have to research some sort of extender options though. The signal gets pretty weak at the furthest reaches.


::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388090 01/10/13 04:08 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 5,289
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 5,289
I've been reading MaxPc for years shortly after it was Boot magazine. Usually pretty good reviews and some real world tests that i appreciate.
Their recent router recommendation was this latest Asus offering:
http://www.maximumpc.com/article/%5Bprimary-term%5D/asus_rt-n66u_wi-fi_router_review

I personally own the Netgear 4500 to which this Asus is compared in the article. The Netgear 4500 has been pretty solid. It has a wireless client computer two floors up and at the far end of our house. Downlaod speeds are slightly slower than my wired computer which is to be expected (wired 4-6 mbps, wireless 2 floors up 1-3.5 mbps).

Last edited by chesseroo; 01/10/13 04:09 PM.

"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388095 01/10/13 05:20 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 340
devotee
Offline
devotee
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 340
OK
I never said 5ghz was faster than 2.4

By putting Gaming and Video on 5 ghz, u run less interference with someone on a laptop on Youtube say down loading a video. Or whatever else downloading songs or Utorrenting. That's all

This way you get the highest bandwidth for gaming or Netfliks whatever on 5ghz.
There are routers that do this either 2.4 or 5ghz or for a few $$$ more will do both at the same time.

I did not use 5 ghz for distance as if he is in a normal average home on the same floor it will not be an issue for this regardless of 2.4 or 5ghz.

Secondly, You cannot split a digital signal, unless you want to buy some more electronics.

Not sure where you are but if your one HS with Cable then gonna need to goto their cable modem first anyways. From that go to a router, ( Dlink, Linksys, Cisco ) I don't care.
The only way your gonna run two or three Networks ( LAN ) within is through CAT6 or 5 or 4 or 3 or 5 or 5e I don't care.
You cannot go wireless to wireless with routers. If you need to extend or go wireless from the router to another you need a bridge or extender. Linksys WES610N 4-Port Dual-Band N Entertainment Bridge. See staples $79.99 they are. you can put this near your amp, tv, blu-ray using Catx and go wireless to the router on 5 ghz. with this bridge. There is no need to run Catx cabling.
Also, I don't care what the router is advertised at 1ghz or 500 mbs or 300mbs your internet connection unless you are fibre optics and paying 100's per month I would imagine is only around 80 mbs. so you are not going to reach the 300 mbs the router says it is capable of. And if the remote site puts out 1ghz uploads and you are the only one downloading your not going to get it.

As for Dlink, Linksys, Cisco, Netgear there all good. I have a Dlink 815 and my daughter is on Xbox live playing Black OPs or HAlo, Youtubin music on her iPhone and I am wireless with my tv watching Netflicks upstairs, my dlink router is in the basement and I never yet, had an issue.


Pioneer sc-1525
M80 HG Cherry
Re: Need a new router
axiom_man #388102 01/10/13 06:04 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 16,437
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 16,437
axiom_man,

The only case where the less interference / additional bandwidth of 5GHz makes sense for streaming is if you have a file server on your local network that holds all your HD content and you stream from it wirelessly. Netflix streams (or any internet source) are coming to you over your internet connection, so their bandwidth is already constrained by the speed of the connection to your provider. Your wireless network (regardless of band) has at least 10x the throughput of your internet connection.

The primary real-world benefit of a simultaneous dual-band router is that you can run devices that only support 2.4GHz at the same time as devices that can use 5GHz. Older routers that supported both speeds would have to step down to only using 2.4GHz if there was only one device on the network that required it.


I can explain it to you but I can't understand it for you.
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388103 01/10/13 06:10 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
T
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
T
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,488
Word.


bibere usque ad hilaritatem
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388111 01/10/13 07:01 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 340
devotee
Offline
devotee
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 340
Whatever,

all I know is with A B G nics run only 2.4 speeds up to 54mbs.
With the Xbox and my tv ( Netflicks Smart TV ) I have a N Nic to run on 5ghz.
When I had only the G router on 2.4ghz and all my appliances, net flicks would time out, gaming was gittery and so on.

I now have a router that does simu 2.4 and 5 ghz.
The gaming system and Smart TV is on 5ghz everything else runs on 2.4ghz. I do not have issues anymore. as everything is not competing for the same bandwidth on 2.4

It's almost like having two seperate networks on one friggin router.
Gaming, watching netflick movies and downloading movies, youtube video,take up bandwidth.
So if everything is on the same bandwidth then you going to share and compete. Divide them up


Last edited by axiom_man; 01/10/13 07:04 PM.

Pioneer sc-1525
M80 HG Cherry
Re: Need a new router
Ascension #388112 01/10/13 07:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,471
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,471
Class of 2006! Woo hoo!!!


Bears, beets, Battlestar Galactica.
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,363
Posts431,682
Members15,414
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,682
CV 11,797
MarkSJohnson 11,450
Who's Online Now
2 members (BBIBH, Mojo), 151 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4