Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Audioengine A5+ with EP125, good match?
#388100 01/10/13 06:01 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
K
Kong Offline OP
newbie
OP Offline
newbie
K
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Greetings,

I have the a5+...love them! but searching for a more low-end, at lowered volume. Since with a new baby I cannot crank it as often as I would like. smile So I thought EP125 would fill that space nicely. Is that a good choice?

Also looked at the Audioengine S8 but I would pick Axiom since both are about the same price.

If so, can I take Line-out from the A5+ connect to EP125's Line-in?


Thank you,
Kong

Re: Audioengine A5+ with EP125, good match?
Kong #388105 01/10/13 06:14 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,015
axiomite
Offline
axiomite
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 6,015
What's the room size? The number of feet long, wide, and high?

I've no experience with EP125, but my guess is it's only for the smallest of rooms. I had an EP175 in my living room of 18 X 12 X 10. It would have been fine at lower volumes, but not at the volume I crank it to, so I upgraded to the EP350, and now thinking about adding a second sub.

You can always try it and if you don't like it, send it back for a refund of all but return shipping, unless it's for an upgraded product.

Looking on the Products page for this Subwoofer, and looking at the amp picture, it has high-level inputs, so yes, you can attach amplified speaker wires to this subwoofer.

Last edited by CatBrat; 01/10/13 06:20 PM.
Re: Audioengine A5+ with EP125, good match?
CatBrat #388109 01/10/13 06:31 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
K
Kong Offline OP
newbie
OP Offline
newbie
K
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
12'x10'x9' is the room dimensions. It's a little office/computer room I have at home. I use them for music/gaming 60/40, respectively.

It would be a first purchase for me with Axiom, if I've decided to pull the trigger.

Can I control the volume of the sub at the speaker's control? If not, what's your suggestion?

Re: Audioengine A5+ with EP125, good match?
Kong #388110 01/10/13 06:36 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
shareholder in the making
Offline
shareholder in the making
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 18,044
I think you would use the line-out of the A5 to connect to the sub. Assuming that line-out has variable volume (which it may or may not), the volume control would be from the speaker control. You'd probably be ok with an EP125 in that room, but there are very few people around here who have an EP125 or have even heard one, sorry to say.

Last edited by Ken.C; 01/10/13 06:37 PM.

I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Re: Audioengine A5+ with EP125, good match?
Ken.C #388363 01/14/13 03:35 AM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
K
Kong Offline OP
newbie
OP Offline
newbie
K
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Thank you very much guys. After a few days of exhausting research, I think I have found a subwoofer from SVS which fits my situation a little better.

Cheers!


Moderated by  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Link Copied to Clipboard

Need Help Graphic

Forum Statistics
Forums16
Topics24,491
Posts434,516
Members15,440
Most Online2,082
Jan 22nd, 2020
Top Posters
Ken.C 18,044
pmbuko 16,437
SirQuack 13,707
CV 11,912
MarkSJohnson 11,451
Who's Online Now
3 members (CV, michael_d, Rafal), 511 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newsletter Signup
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4